Slow Cooker Deliciousness: Blackberry & Red Wine Pork Tenderloin

Doesn’t the title alone start to make your mouth water? I know mine did when I found this recipe by Leeann and decided to alter it a little for my personal preferences.

Here we go!

 

As you can see, you don’t need many ingredients for great flavor. I’m sure you would agree, slow cooker meals are all about tender meat that just soak up whatever deliciousness you cook it in! In this case, it’s going to be the sweetness of honey, the fruity flavor of blackberry preserves, and the elegance of red wine (who doesn’t love cooking with wine?).

First things first – Let’s season the pork tenderloin (a pork roast or even chicken breasts would work too!). I rubbed a mixture of sage, rosemary, thyme, onion powder, garlic powder, ground black pepper, and seasoned salt all over my 1.5lb tenderloin (If you’re using a 2lb tenderloin and use my measurements, you will still have enough spice rub).

That’s the most effort you’ll need to exert for the rest of this recipe – How awesome/simple/amazing is that? 🙂

Next, just place your pork tenderloin in your slow cooker and top with the blackberry preserves, honey, and red wine.

Time to kick back and relax while the crock pot works it’s magic. For my 1.5lb tenderloin, I let it cook on low for 4 hours. For a full 2lb tenderloin, it may need closer to 5 hours. (If you’re in a hurry, try cooking on high for 2-3 hours).

The cooking process extracts a good amount of liquid and if you’ve got the time, it can easily be thickened with corn starch for a little extra sauce to spoon over the meat.

Edit: I wish I had done this! Although the meat was tender and juicy, the inside could’ve used a little more flavor.

As with the vast majority of slow cooker meals, the end result is worth the wait. Pair the pork with your favorite side(s) and don’t forget to pour yourself a glass of wine! (Hey, the bottles already open ;)). Cheers!

Slow Cooker: Blackberry & Red Wine Pork Tenderloin

Ingredients

  • 1 (1.5lb-2lb) pork tenderloin (or pork roast/chicken breasts)
  • 1 tablespoon dried crushed rosemary
  • 1 tablespoon dried rubbed sage
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1 12oz jar of seedless blackberry preserves (or jam)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup red wine (I used Escudo Rojo – a red blend that’s mostly made up of cab, but you can pretty much use any dry red wine)

What to Do

  1. Combine all dry ingredients (rosemary, sage, thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, ground black pepper, seasoned salt) in a small bowl.
  2. Season the pork tenderloin by generously rubbing the dry ingredient mixture on all sides.
  3. Place the tenderloin in your slow cooker.
  4. Slowly pour honey and red wine over the meat.
  5. Spoon blackberry preserves on top and/or around the tenderloin.
  6. Cook on low for 4-5 hours (depending on the size).
7 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Deliciousness: Blackberry & Red Wine Pork Tenderloin

  1. I meant to leave a comment.I think slow cookers are unrated and under utilized.I am glad to see others who know hte merits of cornstarch-thickened sauces,(gravies), and how much they can add. I await more of your food experiences.

    • Thanks Tonette! I completely agree – My slow cookers (I even have 2) are my secret weapon in the kitchen ;). I have plenty more slow cooking recipes coming soon!

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker: Hearty Turkey Quinoa Chili « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

