DIY Cork Board from Wine Corks

One of the many perks of my boyfriend and I both working in the wine and spirits industry is that we’re able to purchase cases of wine at a very generous discount.  We currently have around 90 bottles of wine lying around our apartment!  As a result, we’ve accumulated quite a few corks…

Recently, I’ve seen so many ideas for ways to incorporate them in DIY projects like this Cork Wreath and this Cork Picnic Basket.  However, for my first wine cork project, I decided to go with what seemed to me like the obvious choice… a cork board.

Ambitiously, I started this project months ago but for some reason, just haven’t gotten around to finishing it (We all have projects like that, right?).  Anyways, with the start-up of my blog, I figured it was the perfect time to finish it.  Look how inspiring my blog is for me already ;).

The project itself requires very little materials – The hardest part is acquiring enough corks.  Everyone knows a wine-o or a bartender though –  Just ask them nicely to start saving corks for you (Thanks Laur!).  Better yet, take this opportunity as an excuse to try some new wines!  Two of my favorites right now are Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc and Primal Roots Red Blend.

Back to the materials – For the backboard, I purchased a cheap frame from Wal-Mart.  Besides the frame and the corks, all you need is a trusty hot glue gun, glue sticks, and time.

Before beginning to glue anything, I strongly recommend arranging your corks to make sure everything fits and to get a sense of how the finished product will look.  If you don’t have the patience to do this across the entire frame, at least try to do it before gluing each column.  You’d be surprised how differently the corks fit in different spots.  Make sure to keep the cardboard in the frame while you glue in order to make sure you account for the space the frame takes up.

Tip:  I once read somewhere that an alternating pattern is more forgiving with hiding gaps.  By alternating pattern, I mean switching the position of the corks between horizontally and vertically.  See below for a close up of mine:

Once you’re ready, just squeeze a line of hot glue along the back of each cork and press it to the backboard for a couple of seconds.  Depending on the size of your frame, this may take a while (probably why I abandoned this project before!).  Keep with it – it’s worth it!

After you’ve glued all of your corks on, hold the frame upside down (with the corks facing the floor) to check for any that may need to be re-glued.  If you feel confident that you don’t have any loose corks, you can stop here and admire your new cork board!  …Or you can continue on, like I did, to spray paint the frame.

I chose to spray paint mine a metallic brown because I thought my wood looked a little dull.  If you want to spray paint yours too, just remove the backboard with the glued on corks and place your frame in an open area outside.  For convenience, I placed my frame on a cardboard box so I could make sure to get the edges.

What do you think?  I’m so glad I finally got the motivation to finish this project!

DIY Cork Board from Wine Corks

You Will Need

  • Frame with a Cardboard Back
  • Lots of Wine Corks (number depends on the size of your frame)
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Glue Sticks
  • Spray Paint (optional)

What to Do

  1. Arrange the corks in the frame but do not glue any yet.  Make sure you lay the corks on the cardboard backing while it is still in the frame and check to see that everything fits as expected.
  2. Glue each cork to the cardboard by placing a strip of hot glue on the back and pressing down for a couple of seconds.
  3. Once all corks have been glued down, turn the frame upside down (with the corks facing the floor) to check for any corks that may need to be re-glued.
  4. Optional:  Remove backboard to spray paint frame.  Let frame dry then replace backboard.
  5. Hang and admire your new cork board :).
18 thoughts on “DIY Cork Board from Wine Corks

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Award – Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons

    • Thank you! Trust me, it took a long time to save that many corks! Thank goodness my best friend is a bartender haha. But it’s also definitely a good excuse to try new wines! 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah! This project is definitely budget friendly… It just takes time to collect enough corks! Next time I do this, I’ll probably do a smaller one.

  2. The saved corks have really started accumulating around my home. When I started collecting them a few years back, I was certain that I would have a fun use for them right away. However, I keep forgetting how easy it is to really make an attractive statement piece. Thanks for the beautiful reminder! ~Anne

    • Hi Anne! Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. 🙂 I know what you mean! I had been hoarding corks for MONTHS before I finally went ahead and completed this project. Now that my cork stash has been significantly depleted, I need to stock up (aka drink more wine! ;)) so I can complete another one! Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

