Quick & Easy Southwestern Inspired Rice

Despite being adopted from South Korea as a baby and living in New York my entire life, there are some genetic tendencies that must just be ingrained in me.  One of these tendencies is my unwavering affection for rice.  Jon jokes that it’s in my genes – I think he’s right because I can, and sometimes do, eat multiple cups of rice in one sitting (oops!).

I prefer the simple combination of white rice and low sodium soy sauce.  However, Jon doesn’t care for soy sauce and he’s more health conscious than I.  In order to appease both of us, I created this southwestern inspired rice – I still get to eat my rice and Jon likes the spicy (non-soy sauce) flavor.  Win Win :).

In this recipe, I use Minute Rice for convenience but you can use any kind of rice and preparation method you’d like.

Cook 1 cup of rice according to package.

Tip:  If microwaving, place a small scoop of butter in the bowl with the rice and water.  It will prevent the mixture from boiling over while it’s cooking.  I also use slightly less water than the instructions call for because brown rice is naturally more wet than white rice and who likes soggy rice?

While the rice is cooking, thinly slice your green onion and set aside.

Once the rice is cooked, fluff with a fork and add the chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper.  Then, squeeze the lime juice on top and combine thoroughly.

Finally, sprinkle with the green onion and enjoy solo or with the rest of your meal!  (Pictured here with my Slow Cooker Southwestern Chicken and Beans).

Quick & Easy Southwestern Inspired Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry brown rice
  • 1 lime
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

What to Do

  1. Prepare rice according to package instructions.
  2. Fluff cooked rice and add chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, crushed red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper.
  3. Squeeze the lime juice on top and combine thoroughly.
  4. Garnish with the green onion and serve.
One thought on “Quick & Easy Southwestern Inspired Rice

  1. Pingback: Southwestern Chicken, Corn & Bean Casserole « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

