Hemp Coasters

I love browsing DIY home decor projects. Seriously, I lose track of time perusing Pinterest and pinning all kinds of home improvement ideas. However, reality always hits and I have to remind myself that Jon and I aren’t homeowners yet. So that means we can’t mount too many things on our apartment walls and there’s no point making semi-permanent fixtures since we don’t plan on staying in our apartment long-term.

However, that doesn’t mean I can’t still indulge in some form of DIY home decor projects. For example, I came across these Hemp Coasters, loved them, and decided they looked easy enough to make. Since then, I’ve made 3 sets (2 for gifts, 1 for myself) so that goes to show how easy they are! I think they’re the perfect neutral addition to any table and any theme (beach, rustic, vintage, autumn) and they’re functional.

To make these, you only need the cork circles, hemp cord, and a hot glue gun with glue sticks. I found a pack of 4 cork circles (4″ diameter and 3mm thick) at Michael’s in the General Crafts section for $1.99. I also found the hemp cord (aka 2mm Jute) at Michael’s in the Jewelry Making section near the beading wire for $6.99. The hemp cord may seem a little expensive but with one of Michael’s 40% off coupons, it’s not so bad – Besides, my one roll has made 12 individual coasters and I still have about 1/4 of the roll left.

First, you need to find the center point on your cork circle. You can use a ruler to measure and mark a dot in the circle or just estimate, like I did. Once you’ve marked your center, place a drop of hot glue there and press the end your hemp cord onto it (Step 1).

Continue on by placing a thin strip of hot glue on the cork where you want your hemp cord to lie then press your hemp cord onto the glue (Step 2). Just keep circling around and make sure your hemp cord is pressed up against the cord next to it (Step 3).

Tip: Try not to wind the hemp cord too tightly or your cork circle will curve upward and won’t lie completely flat.

I found that I was most efficient by keeping the hot glue gun in my dominant (right) hand and twisting the cork circle as I glued. It takes some time to cover the whole cork circle but you don’t need to concentrate very hard so this is a great project to do while watching tv. Your pattern may look funny at first but just keep going and it’ll surprise you.

When you’ve wrapped enough hemp cord around that you can no longer see the edges of the cork circle, snip the cord and glue the end down (Step 4). I placed a small drop of hot glue on the tip to prevent fraying but you could also use clear nail polish. Your first coaster is done! Repeat the process with the remaining 3 cork circles then admire your handiwork :).

Hemp Coasters

You Will Need:

  • 4 cork circles (mine were 4″ diameter and 3mm thick)
  • hemp cord (2mm jute, 20lb)
  • hot glue gun
  • hot glue sticks
  • scissors

What to Do

  1. Find the center point on your cork circle by measuring with a ruler or estimating.
  2. Place a drop of hot glue on the center point and press the end of your hemp cord onto the glue.
  3. Continue on by placing a thin strip of hot glue on the cork where you want your hemp cord to lie then press your hemp cord onto the glue. Keep circling around and make sure your hemp cord is pressed up against the cord next to it.
  4. When you can no longer see the edges of the cork circle, snip the cord and glue the end down.
  5. Place a small drop of hot glue or clear nail polish on the tip to prevent fraying.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 with the remaining cork circles.
14 thoughts on “Hemp Coasters

    • Thanks Jasline – I found the cork circles at Michael’s but they don’t seem to restock them very often (probably not that popular of an item) so if you see em, grab em!

      I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  1. Pingback: September Accomplishments & October Ambitions « Inspire & Indulge

  2. Leah, you are so creative! I love these because they absorb the wetness of the drinks, instead of the drinks sitting in the wetness!

Leave a Reply

