Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Cake w/ Cinnamon Brown Sugar Frosting

Ahhh, it’s finally truly fall.  I know everyone acts like fall is here as soon as it’s September but it’s crazy that it’s not officially fall until 3 weeks into the month.  Don’t get me wrong, I love fall too, but I’m trying not to rush the seasons or the holidays.  It blows my mind how early stores bring out their seasonal merchandise.  I mean, come on – I don’t want to see Christmas decorations while it’s still warm enough to wear a bathing suit!

This is why I’ve been waiting to indulge in any type of pumpkin related recipe.  But now that fall is officially here, let the pumpkin flavored festivities begin!  Pumpkins are truly the “it” item of fall – from home decor, to recipes, to carving – pumpkins are so versatile.

With that, may I present you with this pumpkin cake made with Greek yogurt and NO added butter or oil!  How rare that such a delicious dessert can be so low in fat.  I will say that this cake is a tad bit thicker than your average cake but not as dense as a bread.  Don’t let this turn you off – If anything, it makes this recipe a perfect dessert and/or a terrific coffeecake in the morning.

Let’s get started!  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (F) and lightly grease a 9″ x 13″ cake pan.

In a large mixing bowl (or the bowl attached to your mixer), combine your pumpkin, yogurt, vanilla, egg whites, and sugar.

In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.  In small amounts, slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture until fully incorporated.

Time for some fun mix-ins.  I chose to add chocolate chips – You could also try cranberries, walnuts, or both!

Pour the batter into your cake pan and bake for 30 minutes (or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean).  Let the cake cool completely (mine took about 30-45min).

While you’re [impatiently] waiting, let’s make the frosting.  To be honest, I just kind of winged the recipe but it turned out delicious albeit a little more of a glaze consistency than I expected.  (I have already modified the ingredient measurements below to make the frosting a bit thicker).

Cream your room temperature cream cheese until smooth (as always, I used fat-free cream cheese and you can’t tell).  Next, add the vanilla, brown sugar, and cinnamon – Once all ingredients have been incorporated, slowly add the confectioner’s sugar until you reach your desired consistency.

All that’s left to do is frost your cake and devour it! 😉  Enjoy!

Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Cake w/ Cinnamon Brown Sugar Frosting

Ingredients (Cake)

Source: She Knows

  • 1 15oz can of pumpkin puree
  • 2/3 cup low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Ingredients (Frosting)

  • 6oz fat-free cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4-5 cups confectioner’s sugar

What to Do (Cake)

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (F) and lightly grease a 9″ x 13″ cake pan.
  2. In a large mixing bowl (or the bowl attached to your mixer), combine the pumpkin puree, yogurt, vanilla, egg whites, and sugar.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, and salt.
  4. In small amounts, slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture until fully incorporated.
  5. Fold in your chosen mix-in(s).
  6. Pour the batter into your cake pan and bake for 30 minutes (or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean).
  7. Let the cake cool completely (about 30-45min).

What to Do (Frosting)

  1. Cream the room temperature cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Add the vanilla, brown sugar, and cinnamon.
  3. Once all ingredients have been incorporated, slowly add the confectioner’s sugar until you reach your desired consistency.
  4. Frost your cake and enjoy the flavors of fall!
22 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt Pumpkin Cake w/ Cinnamon Brown Sugar Frosting

  1. This looks scrumptious! I love the Greek yogurt in the cake and the cinnamon brown sugar frosting. Wonderful combination!

    • Ironically, I don’t like pumpkin pie at all! My boyfriend loves pumpkin flavored ANYTHING so we’re going to be trying a bunch of pumpkin recipes like pancakes, muffins, dips, etc. Let me know if you have any good ones to try!

      • Oh, really? We are all huge pumpkin pie fans…and I love Edy’s seasonal pumpkin ice cream…it tastes like pumpkin pie with a great deal of whipped cream.
        My biggest pumpkin recipe ‘hit’ is a bread made from a recipe I found in an Americana magazine-style cookbook of McCall’s many years ago;(it’s yellowed and falling apart). The recipe is from the Shaker community. It is perfect for the season. Let me finish my series of freezing foods on my blog
        http://tonettejoycefoodfriendsfamily.wordpress.com/
        then I’ll dig the recipe out from wherever it is hiding in my ‘files’ and I’ll put it up with adult party ideas. I’m sure your boyfriend will enjoy it.

  2. Pingback: Desserts | Healthy Dinner Recipes

  3. Pingback: Holiday Sweet Potato Cake

  4. Pingback: … and The Winner of A Lot On Your Plate’s Cake Bake-off Is (Guest Post) …

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting « Inspire & Indulge

    • Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words. We love pumpkin and cinnamon too – I’m actually posting a pumpkin bar recipe tomorrow! Let me know if you give this recipe a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

