DIY No-Sew Ruffle Scarf

One of the things I love most about fall would be scarves.  They come in so many colors, patterns, textures, and materials.  If you’re like me, you’ve collected more scarves than you need – but that’s no reason not to make your own!  This DIY project is cheap, quick, and simple.  What more could you ask for?

I came across this spiral scarf and was inspired to make my own.  All you need is some jersey knit fabric (t-shirt, bed sheets, etc), a paper plate, scissors, and a pen.  Seriously, just 4 things!

For some reason, I still have a set of gray jersey knit twin XL sheets that my mom gave me over six years ago when I still lived in a dorm.  I never even opened them!  I don’t know what possessed me to keep them, especially through four different apartment moves, but I’m so glad that I did.  These sheets were perfect for this project and I have plenty of material left over (Can you guess what everyone’s getting for Christmas?  ;)).

You can use sheets like I did, or a jersey knit shirt, but I would recommend size XL or bigger so you have enough fabric to work with.  If your shirt is smaller than that, just use two shirts.

Start by laying your fabric flat and tracing as many circles as you can fit with your paper plate.

Now cut the circles out.  If you’re using a t-shirt, remember to cut circles from both the front and back.  I ended up cutting 12 circles.

Tip:  Since your edges won’t end up showing, don’t worry about cutting your circles out perfectly.

Once you’ve got all of your circles cut out, it’s time to make the spiral strips.  To do this, make a 1 inch cut into your circle (step 1) then cut around the circle (step 2) and keep cutting and circling inward until your circle has become one long strip (step 3).  If this sounds ridiculous and confusing (I’m sorry!), here is a quick tutorial video to watch.  Repeat these steps for each of your circles.

Now, take each ruffle strip and stretch it out by holding one end and running your hand down the length of the fabric while pulling.  Once all of your ruffle strips are stretched out to your desired length, you’re pretty much done!

All that’s left to do is decide how you’d like to tie your scarf around your neck.  If it’s long enough, you can tie it around your neck but if not, you could use a clip to hold it together.  For example, I made my own fabric flowers (Version #1 and Version #2) and then used a hot glue gun to attach them to large alligator clips.  Then, I used two clips to hold my scarf together.  There are so many possibilities!  You could even just let the scarf hang loose if you’d like.

Not bad for an inexpensive homemade scarf, right? 🙂

No-Sew Jersey Knit Ruffle Scarf

Source: Tidy Mom

You Will Need

  • jersey knit fabric
  • paper plate
  • scissors
  • pen

What to Do

  1. Lay fabric flat and trace as many circles as you can fit with your paper plate – I used 12.
  2. Cut the circles out.
  3. Take one circle and make a 1 inch cut into your circle then cut around the circle.  Keep cutting and circling inward until your circle has become one long strip (quick tutorial video).  Repeat with all remaining circles.
  4. Take one ruffle strip and stretch it out by holding one end and running your hand down the length of the fabric while pulling.  Repeat with all remaining ruffle strips.
  5. Tie or clip your scarf around your neck and go brag to your friends that you made it! (I held mine together using flower clips – version #1 and version #2)
16 thoughts on “DIY No-Sew Ruffle Scarf

    • Thanks Tonette! I’m sure everyone can pull this off. It’s such an easy project and scarves look good on everyone! Plus, there are so many color options with both the scarf and the flowers!

  1. Pingback: September Accomplishments & October Ambitions « Inspire & Indulge

  2. Pingback: DIY Kitchen Canister Glass Etching « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

