Toilet Roll Wreath

How hilarious, and slightly awkward, is the title of this project?  Yes, I made a wreath entirely out of cut-up toilet paper rolls and paper towel rolls.  Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for this cheap and genius idea – I was inspired by Lovely Trash.  Crazy what you can do with a hot glue gun and spray paint, right?

This project is not difficult at all.  Similar to my cork board made from wine corks, the most difficult part is collecting the supplies.  I felt like I was hoarding toilet paper/paper towel rolls – Poor Jon was probably SO sick of hearing me remind him to save them.  But finally, I had enough!

Besides the rolls, you will need a ruler, scissors, a large pot lid, hot glue gun with glue sticks, and any embellishments (i.e. flowers, ribbon).

After you’ve amassed your collection of rolls, you need to cut them up.  You can use a ruler to measure equal increments (such as 1.5 inches) or just eyeball it if you want to move along quicker.

Tip:  Flatter your rolls prior to cutting so they have 2 creases.  This will make cutting a lot easier and give you the “petal” shapes.

Now, place your large pot lid on a large flat surface (I worked on the floor).  The area of your lid will be the open space in the middle of your wreath.  Hot glue your “petals” one at a time to each other using the pot as a reference to keep a circle shape.

You’re done with the first layer!  Start the next layer by adding petals into the spaces of the first layer.  It’s probably easier just to look at the next picture to see what I mean:

Repeat the same process for the 3rd, and final, layer.

Time to dress it up a little!  I chose copper colored spray paint because I thought it would transition well throughout September, October, and November, but you can go with whatever color appeals to you.

Then, after my wreath was completely dry, I took it one step further by attaching a few fake flowers that I found at Michael’s for $1/each.  I attached them to the wreath using pipe cleaners and you can’t even see them.

I love the end result!  What a fabulously inexpensive and fun way to dress up your home decor – especially if you have a boring uniform apartment complex door like me!

Toilet Roll Wreath

You Will Need

  • large collection of paper towel and toilet paper rolls (I used roughly 5 and 18, respectively)
  • scissors
  • ruler
  • hot glue gun with glue sticks
  • large pot lid
  • embellishments

What to Do

  1. Flatten all rolls to create creases and form the “petal” shapes.
  2. Use a ruler to measure 1.5 inch increments along the rolls and cut the rolls into pieces.
  3. Place your pot lid on a large flat surface, such as the floor, and hot glue petals to each other one at a time while using the lid as a reference to keep a circle shape.
  4. Glue the 2nd layer by adding petals into the spaces of the 1st layer.
  5. Glue the 3rd layer by adding petals into the spaces of the 2nd layer.
  6. Allow hot glue to set.
  7. Optional: Spray paint wreath with chosen color and allow time to dry completely.
  8. Add your embellishments with hot glue, ribbon, pipe cleaners, etc.
  9. Hang on a door or place on a mantel and admire!
25 thoughts on “Toilet Roll Wreath

    • Thanks, Kelly! It’s a fairly simple project – I would recommend it. Even though I’m done with this project, I’m still saving TP rolls (a new habit? haha). I plan to make some Christmas ornaments and/or gift tags with them next!

    • Thank you! Yes, I was totally excited when I came across the inspiration on Lovely Trash. I love any project where I don’t have to spend extra money and I can repurpose something! Let me know if you have any fun projects to share :).

  1. Lol I love this!! I saw a toilet paper roll wall design floating around on Pinterest and my roommate and I have been collecting TP rolls ever since…by the time xmas rolls around we might have enough to make…half of one? Haha. This is adorable!!

    • Haha, I know – They take forever to collect! At one point, I thought I had enough and got 3/4 done with the wreath and realized I needed more… So my project was on hold for a month. You’ll get enough eventually! Can’t wait to see your wall art when it’s completed!

  2. That is so cute!! We always have so many toilet paper rolls and paper towel rolls that get thrown in the trash. I’m not crafty at all, but this is something that I might be able to tackle 🙂

    • Yay! It’s a fairly quick and easy project once you’ve got all the rolls collected! I love that it’s so easily customizable to the season or holidays 🙂 .

    • Hi, Mtetar! Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed this post. 🙂 I love the idea of upcycling toilet paper rolls and there are so many projects incorporating them out there!

      • You are welcome, and yes there are as I can see with your projects. I’ve made Napkins Rings, but now I see more creativity. Thanks for sharing, and I look forward to sharing. Be Blessed, Mtetar

Leave a Reply

