October Accomplishments & November Ambitions

Happy Halloween!!  Is it just me or did October fly by too quickly?  It feels like just yesterday that Jon and I were complaining about the heat and now we’re caught up worrying about Hurricane Sandy and I’m reading weather alerts that it could snow next week!  I guess that’s good ol upstate NY, huh?

If you’ve been following my blog for a little bit, you may remember that last month I began a monthly series on accomplishments and ambitions.  I thought it would be a great idea to look back and review the previous month as well as look ahead to the coming month.

Surprisingly, even though this month passed in a blur, I was still able to get a bunch of blog goals crossed off.  In orange is what I wanted to accomplish in last month’s post:

1. Continue to indulge Jon’s love of pumpkin flavored things (cupcakes? pancakes? both?)

Well, I only ended up making one recipe that included pumpkin but since Jon declared that it may be his favorite cupcake, I guess I went for quality over quantity.  Click the pic if you’d like to see my post and the recipe. 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

2. Transition from the pumpkin phase into an apple phase (apple butter? apple bread? applesauce?)

 I recently made Apple Cider Pancakes with Warm Apple Salsa for my first apple recipe.  I’m really excited to share my homemade applesauce in November and to find more delicious apple recipes!  Feel free to share any that you might have.

Apple Cider Pancakes with Warm Apple Salsa

3. Create an autumn inspired decoration for our apartment (wreath? centerpiece?)

I went the wreath route and created this little beauty:  (Word to the wise, if you do this project, make sure you use good strong glue)

Toilet Roll Wreath

4. Create something Halloween related (This project is already done and I’m so excited to share it with you!  I’ll be posting it on Oct. 22nd as part of a link-up post with some other great bloggers.)

Did you happen to see my participation in the Collectively Creative link-up?  I hope so!  Kelly at Cobwebs, Cupcakes and Crayons came up with a fun idea for a group of bloggers to all post about one topic on the same day.  The first topic was Halloween and Jon and I decided to make a Party Pumpkin Keg!

Party Pumpkin Keg

5. Get started on some homemade Christmas presents (I know it’s early but I don’t want to leave it all for the last minute!)

Oops!  Unfortunately, I didn’t make any progress on this goal but there’s always next month! 🙂

So let’s take a look at my November Ambitions…

  • Create a fun and easy DIY project for the next Collectively Creative theme (Thankful)
  • Try a recipe from one of the blogs I follow
  • Share 2 more apple recipes
  • Take a second attempt at starting some homemade Christmas presents!

Time to get inspired!

24 thoughts on “October Accomplishments & November Ambitions

    • Haha, thank you! I think we were extremely lucky with how well it turned out the first time (thanks to Jon’s patient carving) – Can’t wait to try it again though!

      I look forward to your November posts too. I always feel like I connect with whatever you’re writing about! 🙂

    • Awww, thank you. Christmas is coming too quickly – I really need to devote a whole weekend to crafting so I don’t have all these last-minute half-finished projects! Do you have any plans to make any homemade gifts?

  1. You really accomplished a lot this month!!

    That’s awesome that you are going to do homemade Christmas presents, what are going to be working on? I’m just starting to think about what we want to do this year 🙂

    • Thanks Maura! It’s so nice to have a blog and be able to look back at what I’ve accomplished over the last month.

      As for Christmas presents, I plan to make a few more no-sew ruffles scarves and sets of cork coasters (these have already been posted). I’m also looking into wine cork magnets, crocheted earwarmers, and some mason jar projects. Feel free to share any suggestions or fun projects you’ve come across!

  2. It’s always great when you can look back at goals and, even though a month flew by, know that you accomplished most of what you set as challenges for yourself. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your homemade Christmas presents!

    • I completely agree – I love being able to track my progress and even though I didn’t finish every ambition, it’ll just encourage me to check that goal off my list first next month!

    • Hi Rachel! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 The pancakes are good but if you have a sweet tooth (like me) don’t forget to make the warm apple salsa with them!

  3. Gosh I really love this series so much! I want to copy it on my blog but every time it crosses my mind it feels like sooo much workkk. Evidently I am not a natural goal-setting kind of person. Anyway! Love this and enjoyed all of the above posts 🙂 Can you tell me what crafts you might make with old cereal boxes, O Craft Master? I was considering making some magazine holders, but I have a LOT of boxes (thanks to my lovely bf :))…

  4. Pingback: November Accomplishments & December Ambitions « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

