Slow Cooker: Homemade Applesauce

Last week when I listed my November ambitions, I mentioned that I wanted to share two apple related recipes this month.  I also said I wanted to try a recipe from a blog I currently follow.  With this post, I’m going to touch on both – two birds, one stone, you know how it goes.

First, let me talk about the recipe.  I’ve never made homemade applesauce before but with the season, it seems like the popular thing to do.  The fact that I could make it in my Crock Pot made this recipe a no brainer – I just had to try it!  I admit, you have to put some work into peeling and cutting the apples but when I put my mind to it, I was able to have everything prepped and in the slow cooker within 15 minutes (I didn’t have a choice; I was home on lunch and rushing to get back to work on time!).

Now, a quick moment of your time to introduce you to Julia from A Cedar Spoon.  Simply put, she has amazing recipes to share!  She was one of the first blogger relationships I made upon starting Inspire & Indulge and she’s inspired me with tons of healthier recipes.  She has so many recipes I can’t wait to try but I started with her applesauce since it only required 5 ingredients!  Go check out her blog!  Oh yeah, did I mention she’s taking part in National Blog Posting Month, which means she will be posting every.single.day in November; that’s a lot of great posts from an awesome blogger!

Back to the applesauce!  Let’s get peeling…

Peel all of your apples.  I bought a 3lb bag of McIntosh (mildly tart & juicy) but I definitely could have fit more apples (probably another 3lb bag) in my slow cooker.

Now, if you have a fancy apple corer like Julia, feel free to use that to core and slice your apples.  I did it the old-fashioned way by just slicing the 4 sides off of each apple.  Throw your apple slices into your slow cooker and add the water.  Next, add your vanilla and cinnamon.
Tip:  The first time I made this, I added 3 tablespoons of brown sugar because I didn’t believe it would be sweet enough.  I was so wrong and I should have followed Julia’s no-sugar added recipe the first time around.  The brown sugar does add some delicious flavor but it makes the applesauce so sweet that Jon and I could only eat a few spoonfuls at a time.
Turn your slow cooker on high and let the apples turn into applesauce over the next 4-5 hours.  When I came back, my apples were cooked down and only had very small chunks.  Since I like my applesauce a little chunky, I just scooped it out and enjoyed it immediately.  If you prefer smoother applesauce, you could puree it.

1st time around: extra cinnamon and brown sugar

2nd time around: no added sugar

Slow Cooker: Homemade Applesauce
Inspired by: A Cedar Spoon
Ingredients
  • 3lbs of chosen apples (I used McIntosh)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

What to Do

  1. Peel and core (or slice) all of your apples.
  2. Add apples to slow cooker.
  3. Add the water, vanilla, and cinnmon.
  4. Cook on high for 4-5 hours.

You May Also Like:

24 thoughts on “Slow Cooker: Homemade Applesauce

  1. I am so glad you liked this recipe! I love how easy it is and how yummy it tastes. Thanks so much for mentioning me.
    I tried making chili last week using quinoa (you inspired me) and it was so good! Happy Sunday.

    • I’m so glad you shared this recipe, Julia! I’ve already made it twice in two weeks and I’m sure I’ll be making it again!

      Glad to hear you tried quinoa in your chili! Such a great addition to an already great dish.

    • Thanks Tina – This was my first time making anything sweet in my crock pot. Like you, I’ve mostly done meats and stews. This applesauce was SO easy and gave me motivation to try something even crazier in the crock pot… hmmm, cake? apple butter?

  2. Leah, I was just thinking homemade applesauce after being at the market and seeing all the apples. This is such a great idea and delicious! I like both you prepared and I am so glad you mentioned the brown sugar. The aromas in your kitchen must have been exhilarating! Bookmarked!!

    • Thanks Judy! You’re right… my kitchen smelled like sweet cinnamon-y goodness! This is great for fall because you can eat it cold or serve it warm to keep the chill away.

  3. I love making my own apple sauce. We hardly ever buy it any more. It’s so easy and you can vary it each time to whatever you’re feeling – chunky, cinnamon… We made some using a bit of red wine a few weeks ago that turned out surprisingly well. Have fun playing!

  4. Wow, so easy and looks really delicious…love that you don’t have to add any extra sugar! I bet it made the whole house smell wonderful 🙂

    I’m all about using my slow cooker these days too, doesn’t it almost feel like cheating since the slow cooker is doing all the work? 😉

    • I couldn’t believe how sweet it was the second time around when I didnt add any sugar (not even a sprinkle!). This recipe is so easy and so healthy – win, win!

      Haha, I definitely love ‘cheating’ with my slow cooker!

  5. Wow that looks faaaabulous. And so super healthy! If I ever get around to apple picking (or end up with a huge bunch of apples), this is definitely on my list. And then I will make Smitten Kitchen’s applesauce cake 🙂 YUM!

    • Thanks Erika! This is definitely the perfect recipe to satisfy a sweet tooth yet still be healthy… which means I’ll probably be making this at least once a month for the next few months haha. Applesauce cake sounds delicious – I’ll have to look up that recipe!

  6. Yum, you’re killing me with all these yummy crock pot recipes! My mom used to make homemade applesauce all the time when I was young so this post definitely has me feeling a little nostalgic. 🙂 By the way, I picked up all the ingredients for your turkey chili yesterday. I’ll let you know how it turns out, so excited to try it!

    Stephanie

    • Glad to hear this post brought back some happy childhood memories!

      I’m SO excited for you to try the chili – definitely let me know how it turns out. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Blueberry-Lime Butter in the Slow Cooker « Andrea's Garden Cooking

  8. Pingback: Apple Crisp with Brown Sugar & Oat Crumb Topping « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

