Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Remember when I shared my love of potatoes in my Salt & Vinegar French Fry post?  If they weren’t so loaded with calories and carbs, I would be perfectly content eating potatoes every day.  However, I think we all know that wouldn’t be very healthy so Jon and I made a conscious decision to try mashed cauliflower in place of mashed potatoes.

Let me just say this, even with the added cheese, I still consider this a guilt-free and healthy side dish!  In a raw state, one cup of cauliflower is roughly 25 calories while one cup of potatoes is roughly 120 calories.  Granted, each of the veggies provide their own specific set of nutritional benefits but from a calorie perspective, it’s pretty obvious that cauliflower is the way to go.

As for the taste and texture profiles, I found that the cauliflower is not as smooth and fluffy as mashed potatoes but they still hold their form well.  The taste is just as delicious since you can add whatever seasonings you would normally add to your mashed potatoes.  That’s the great thing about both potatoes and cauliflower; they tend to take on the flavor of whatever you add.

I’m not saying this recipe will take the place of your tried-and-true homemade mashed potatoes but at least give it a shot.  It’s a healthy way to cut down on some of those devilish calories and carbs!

I used a whole head of cauliflower which is plenty to feed 4-6 people but since only two of us were eating, we had a lot leftover throughout the week.

Cut large-sized florets from the head of cauliflower and rinse well.

Place the cauliflower pieces in a large pot of water and bring to a boil.  Boil for about 5-7 minutes, or until you can easily pierce the cauliflower with a fork.  Once they’re fork tender, drain the pot.

Return the cauliflower back to the pot and use a potato masher or fork to break down the florets.

Now add your cream cheese, butter, milk, garlic, parm, onion powder, and Italian seasoning to the pot.  Combine thoroughly with a large spoon.  Make sure to taste-test it and then add salt and pepper to your liking.

Tip:  As always, Jon and I used fat-free cream cheese and you can’t tell a difference.  If you’d like, you can also substitute olive oil for the butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Source:  An Inspire & Indulge Original

Ingredients

  • one head of cauliflower
  • 2oz fat-free cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

What to Do

  1. Cut large-sized florets from the head of cauliflower and rinse well.
  2. Place the cauliflower pieces in a large pot of water and bring to a boil.
  3. Boil for about 5-7 minutes, or until you can easily pierce the cauliflower with a fork.  Once fork tender, drain the pot.
  4. Return the cauliflower back to the pot and use a potato masher or fork to break down the florets.
  5. Add cream cheese, butter, milk, garlic, parm, onion powder, and Italian seasoning to the pot.  Combine thoroughly with a large spoon.
  6. Make sure to taste-test it and then add salt and pepper to your liking.

You May Also Like:

32 thoughts on “Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

  1. Yum!!! I’ve been wanting to try mashed cauliflower for so long! I once made a pizza with a cauliflower crust that didn’t taste anything like a normal pizza crust, but was still delicious. I’ve never actually added cream cheese to mashed potatoes, but that looks like a fabulous recipe!

    • Oooo, I’ve been wanting to try a homemade cauliflower crust! Do you happen to have the recipe you used? I’ve been so hesitant because I’m scared how it’ll turn out but if you found a good one, I have a little more hope!

      The cream cheese really helps the cauliflower stick together since cauliflower isn’t as naturally creamy (smooth?) as potatoes. I would definitely recommend it!

      • Lol I do! It’s actually a really old, hideous blog post. But I promise the recipe is still good lol 🙂

        http://panprinandproprin.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/cauliflower-pizza/

        It’s so easy. Cauliflower, basil, mozzarella, eggs, pizza sauce and toppings, pretty much! It basically turns into the yummiest slightly browned, gooey, cheesy cauliflower ever. The most time-consuming part for me was grating the cauliflower and forming the “pizzas”…so yeah I guess I’d warn you that it’s not the quickest recipe, but I think it’s totally worth it!! So healthy! 🙂

    • Ahhh, unfortunately nothing can top the potato in my mind – They are just soooo delicious but at least this is a decent compromise. Can’t wait to make some homemade mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving though!

    • Thanks Tonette! It’s such a compliment when people are able to find any kind of inspiration from my blog. Cauliflower really is so versatile and can be flavored in a million ways. Let me know how it goes!

  2. Representing NY brewing back there I see! I likeee it! This recipe sounds yummy. Last time I made mashed cauliflower I don’t think I made it fattening enough because it tends to be watery tasting. I shall try this in my next cauliflower adventure…

    • Haha, I can’t believe you picked up on my (shameless) NY microbrewery plug! Very impressive – have you ever been to Naked Dove??

      As for the recipe, I know what you mean about the watery taste. I tend to season heavily with garlic and whatever else I have to make sure it’s got a lot of flavor and the cream cheese helps to bind everything together. Hopefully this recipe will work out a little better for you. 🙂

  3. I love mashed cauliflower. Thanks for reminding me of it! I like to boil the garlic with the cauliflower to tone down the strong garlic flavor. Mmm … never thought of cream cheese … might just have to try that. Thanks again!

    • Hi Sharon – Thanks for stopping by! That’s a great suggestion about boiling the garlic to mediate the strong flavor. Next time I make this, I really want to try fresh garlic cloves instead of the minced store-bought kind. The cream cheese is a must! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing this recipe Leah, I need to try this, to cut some calories, believe it or not we eat mashed potatoes at least twice a week (my hubby enjoys it too much) !!! I am not a big fan of cauliflower but I would like to give it a try as mashed cauliflower 🙂

    • Wow, mashed potatoes twice a week?! I’m almost jealous because I can’t blame your hubby! You must be a mashed potato making pro. 😉 Hopefully your hubby will approve of this recipe too!

  5. Leah, wonderful recipe! Cauliflower is one of my favorites and I am bookmarking this for the holidays and afterwards. So different and less calories!

  6. Pingback: Easy, “Perfect” Mashed Potatoes « Putney Farm

  7. Pingback: Cauliflower and Broccoli Salad With Hazelnuts and Pecorino « Putney Farm

  8. Pingback: Cauliflower Mash « Eat Like A Rabbit Recipes

  9. Pingback: Cauliflower Smokey Chicken Cheese Bake « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

