Whole Wheat & Oat PB&J Cookies

Oh my goodness – Has it really been a MONTH since I posted a dessert recipe?  That’s shocking given the strength of my sweet tooth.  I think subconsciously Jon and I have been trying to cut back on our dessert making since the holidays are coming and a) we know we’ll be doing a lot of cooking/baking and b) we know we’ll be eating A LOT of cookies, cupcakes, pies, cakes, etc.

Luckily, I found a recipe on the Shape website which satisfied my sweet tooth while still being healthy and having some nutritional value.  These cookies are surprisingly good and they grew on us.  At first, you can tell it’s a “healthy” cookie since it’s not overly sweet and slathered with frosting (yum) but they’re super soft and still have a sweetness about them.

Looking at the ingredient list, I was a little surprised at the healthy ingredients – whole wheat flour, rolled oats, a banana, and only 1/2 cup of sugar?!  The only disappointment I had was that the peanut butter flavor was overpowered by the banana.  The next time I make these, I’d like to use less banana and increase the amount of peanut butter.  If you like banana bread, I think you’ll love these.

Only one way to find out, right?  Let’s get baking!

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees (F) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together your flour, oats, baking powder, and salt.

Tip:  Although the recipe calls for whole wheat pastry flour, I only had regular whole wheat flour on hand so that’s what I used.  The cookies still turned out great but if you use the pastry flour, your cookies will turn out fluffier and less dense.

In a large bowl (or mixer bowl), add your brown sugar and mash your banana into it.  Next, add the egg white and peanut butter and mix until smooth.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and beat until combined.

Tip:  Towards the end, I just ended up using my hands to press the dough together since I knew I’d be using my hands to form the dough balls anyways.

Using your hands, roll dough into 1 inch balls and place on your baking sheet about 1.5 inches apart.

Using your thumb or the back of a teaspoon, make a circle-shaped indentation into each of the dough balls.

Tip:  Maybe I have small thumb pads, but I found I made the best circles if I made two indentations with my thumb in an X-shape.

Now, fill your indentations with your chosen jelly/jam/preserves.  A few weeks back I went to a local grape festival and scored a pint of Grape Goop.  Doesn’t necessarily sound enticing, right?  The name is deceiving – It’s really just a pie filling mixture (concord grapes, sugar, lemon juice, etc)… aka deliciousness.  This is what I used for my cookies.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until bottoms are slightly browned.  Let the cookies cool slightly on the baking sheet then transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

Whole Wheat & Oat PB&J Cookies

Inspired by Shape

Makes 24 small cookies

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (light or dark)
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 cup jelly/jam/preserves of your choice

What to Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, oats, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a large bowl (or mixer bowl), add brown sugar and mash your banana into it.  Add the egg white and peanut butter and mix until smooth.
  4. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and beat until combined.
  5. Using your hands, roll dough into 1 inch balls and place on your baking sheet about an inch apart.
  6. Using your thumb or the back of a teaspoon, make a circle-shaped indentation into each of the dough balls.
  7. Fill the indentations with your chosen jelly/jam/preserves.
  8. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until bottoms are slightly browned.
  9. Let the cookies cool slightly on the baking sheet then transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

You May Also Like:

27 thoughts on “Whole Wheat & Oat PB&J Cookies

  1. Um YUM! I ❤ banana bread AND PB&J, so obviously these are a match made in heaven…for my mouth 😉 Do you subscribe to Shape/do you like it? I've only ever subscribed to CookingLight (lol) which I LOVE. There are always so many recipes I want to make from each issue!

  2. Triple Yum Leah! My favorite is peanut butter & jam on whole wheat bread or wheat thins. This is even better! I love the addition of oatmeal and banana! And I love Wegmans Supermarkets! Absolutely scrumptious and healthy cookie!

    • Thanks, Judy! The surprisingly healthy ingredients made me feel less guilty about eating a few of these!

      Do you live somewhere with a Wegman’s or you’ve just visited one? I’m convinced it’s the best grocery store (maybe rivaled by Whole Foods) but Wegman’s truly has everything!

    • I rarely make cookies – much more of a cake and cupcake girl but these cookies may have gotten me started on my own cookie kick ;). It was my first time baking with whole wheat flour and I was pleasantly surprised!

  3. These are too fun! I’m also kind of amazed that they came from a Shape recipe – I’ve read the magazine for a long time and have tried a few of their recipes but have always found them to be a bit bland. I bet just the peanut butter part of the cookie would be great too!

    • Hmm, that’s interesting to hear. I’ve never tried a recipe from Shape before but I can definitely vouch that these aren’t bland – maybe I got lucky with my first recipe by them. Thanks for the insight.

    • Hi Bianca – Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Yes, definitely! They’re dangerous because they’re so easy to make and they’re ready so quickly. Perfect for a sweet craving!

  4. Pingback: Gorilla Poop (aka Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies) « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

