Gorilla Poop (aka Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies)

Whew, if you’re like Jon and I, you’ve probably spent quite a few hours in the kitchen during the past week (whether you were actually cooking or just grazing, I’m not judging).  Personally, I’m perfectly happy eating leftovers and ordering pizza for the next week before I get back to cooking regular meals.  If you feel the same way (or if you just like SUPER easy recipes), this one’s for you!

In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I have a HUGE sweet tooth and a couple of weeks ago I had nothing to satisfy my craving.  Panic mode!  Seriously, I needed something to indulge in ASAP.  Of course, I quickly started scouring Pinterest and found these cookies… 7 ingredients, no baking, and I had everything it called for, SCORE!

I know I said I don’t make cookies that often but maybe I should change that because these cookies are awesome.  You’ll be done mixing them together in less than 10 minutes.  Granted, they need to be popped in the freezer/fridge to fully set but from start to finish, these can be done in 15-20 minutes.  I liked them so much I ended up making a second batch for an office party and everyone loved them!

Enough chatter… Let’s make some cookies!

In a medium-large sauce pan, add your butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa powder.  Bring to a boil and let it boil for 1 minute but make sure to keep stirring.

Tip:  I was a little short on cocoa powder so I just added some semi-sweet chocolate chips.

Turn off the burner and stir in your peanut butter and vanilla.

Tip:  I didn’t precisely measure either of these ingredients – I’m telling you, I was in a hurry for some sugar!  As long as you’re in the ball park, this is pretty much a no-fail recipe.

Slowly add your oats one cup at a time until the mixture is thick enough to hold its shape and isn’t running off the spoon too quickly.  For me, this was around 4 cups of oats.

Now, line a baking sheet with aluminum foil or parchment paper.  Drop spoonfuls of the mixture onto your baking sheet.

Tip:  Obviously the larger the spoonful, the bigger the cookie.  The mixture doesn’t really expand on the sheet, so what you see is what you get.

Pop your baking sheet(s) in the freezer for 5-10 minutes, or until hardened then place your cookies in an airtight container and store in your refrigerator.

Gorilla Poop (aka Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies)

Inspired by One More Moore

Yields 1-2 dozen cookies depending on size

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3.5-4 cups quick-cooking oats

What to Do

  1. In a medium-large sauce pan, add butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa powder.
  2. Bring to a boil and let it boil for 1 minute but make sure to keep stirring.
  3. Turn off the burner and stir in the peanut butter and vanilla.
  4. Slowly add the oats one cup at a time until the mixture is thick enough to hold its shape and isn’t running off the spoon too quickly.
  5. Line a baking sheet (or two) with aluminum foil or parchment paper.
  6. Drop spoonfuls of the mixture onto the baking sheet.
  7. Pop your baking sheet(s) in the freezer for 5-10 minutes, or until hardened then place the cookies in an airtight container and store in your refrigerator.

You May Also Like:

23 thoughts on “Gorilla Poop (aka Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies)

    • Thanks, Judy. It seems like everyone has had these cookies before except me! I don’t know what took me so long – They’re so easy to make and simply delicious!

  1. Ooh, despite the name, I think my family would love these 😉 I know what you mean about just needing a sugar fix sometimes! Luckily, we still have some Halloween candy, so when the craving hits, I usually just have a little mini piece of chocolate. My favorite is to have dark chocolate on hand, so I can have a square whenever I want it!

    p.s. I love the picture with your new etched canisters in the background!

    • Be warned – They’re so addicting, Maura!

      I’m jealous of your Halloween candy stash! Unfortunately, we don’t get any trick-or-treaters in our apartment complex so we didn’t buy any candy. In hindsight, I guess this is good for our waistlines. 😉

  2. Pingback: Gorilla Poop, Jimmy Fallon And Life… « cheriblevy

  3. I LOVE no bake cookies and have everything on hand at home to make these. Guess I know what I’m doing tonight….:) PS – I am making your turkey chili again tomorrow!! Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

    Stephanie

    • Believe it or not, these are my first-ever no-bake cookies! (I did make chocolate peanut butter truffles once but I don’t consider those cookies.) Don’t you love that these cookies are made with easy ingredients that you already have? I was thrilled when I saw the ingredient list! Did you get a chance to make them last night? If so, how did they turn out?

      Haha, I love that you love the turkey chili so much! It’s seriously the greatest compliment ever. 🙂 Hope you had a great Thanksgiving as well!

    • Haha, don’t be silly! The fact that you laughed out loud proves you’re forever young at heart! Let me know if you make the cookies – That’d be great as a prank too. 😉

    • Haha, I’m so glad this title has provided entertainment and I’m not the only one that got a kick out of it!

      You’re right – These are definitely so addicting. I can’t believe I made two batches within one week!

  4. Pingback: Caramel Marshmallow Party Popcorn! « Inspire & Indulge

Leave a Reply

