November Accomplishments & December Ambitions

I know I’m a couple of days late, but you didn’t think I gave up on my accomplishments and ambitions series already, did you?!  Nope!  I just decided I was going to save this post for today since today just so happens to be my birthday!  What better day to look back at what I’ve accomplished and look forward to what’s ahead? 🙂

Before I get started, I just want to give everyone a heads up that my blog may seem a little different this month.  I’ve got a couple of guest posts lined up and I happen to be guest posting for a couple of others as well.  Lots of contributors and contributions!  ‘Tis the season, right?

Please bear with me during this chaotic month!  I know December is a hectic month for everyone but for me, it’s truly chaos.  Not only is December full of Christmas activities and the upcoming new year celebrations, but we also celebrate Jon’s birthday on Dec. 4th (did you see the truffles I made for him?), my own birthday on Dec. 5th and we’ll be traveling for 11 days out of the month!  I can’t complain though – We’re heading to NYC this weekend to celebrate our birthdays and later in the month we’re going to Ohio to see all of Jon’s family!  Lots to look forward to but that means less time for blogging which is why I’m SO thankful to feature some great bloggers while they pick up my slack.

So let’s take a look at how I measured up against last month’s ambitions.  (Click any of the pictures to be taken to the post)

  • Create a fun and easy DIY project for the next Collectively Creative theme (Thankful)

I really had NO idea what I was going to do for this but luckily inspiration hit.  I ended up creating this super easy and customizable Thankful dry-erase board.  Jon and I enjoyed jotting down a couple of qualities that we were thankful for in each other.

Thankful Board_Jon

  • Try a recipe from one of the blogs I follow

I’m proud to report that I ended up trying three recipes from fellow bloggers.  Two of them were from Julia at A Cedar Spoon and one was from Maura at My Healthy ‘Ohana.  The first one I tried was Julia’s homemade crock pot applesauce which I blogged about:

Applesauce_Mason Jar

The other two recipes I tried I didn’t get a chance to blog about.  They were Julia’s Rosemary & Cranberry Spread and Maura’s Slow Cooker Maple Chicken & Sweet Potatoes.

  • Share 2 more apple recipes

Success!  I killed two birds with one stone with the homemade applesauce (above) and I barely squeezed in the apple crisp recipe at the end of the month.  Both of these apple recipes were delicious and made me wish I had more time to make apple goodies!

Apple Crisp

  • Take a second attempt at starting some homemade Christmas presents!

I definitely made great progress here but I can’t share what I’ve made since some of the recipients read my blog and I don’t want to give anything away! 😉  Just know that I have been one busy little elf.

So, what’s on the agenda for next month?

  1. Jon & I are in charge of alcohol and a dessert for his family Christmas party.  Looks like we need to find (and taste-test) a delicious party punch – preferably with Svedka since we have a HUGE bottle of it.  As for the dessert, will we go the expected cupcake route or switch it up?  I don’t know!  If you have any punch or dessert suggestions, please feel free to inspire me!
  2. I really enjoyed trying recipes from bloggers I follow.  It makes it seem a little more personal compared to recipes I randomly find on Pinterest.  With that being said, I’d like to try one or two more this month (assuming we have time to cook!).
  3. Find two Paleo-inspired recipes that Jon and I will commit to trying in January.
  4. I really need to do some administrative work on my blog.  I’d like to update my banner at the top and create an Awards page and an Accomplishments & Ambitions page.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday season. 🙂

Cheers!

_Leah

34 thoughts on “November Accomplishments & December Ambitions

  1. Aww happy birthday Leah!!! That’s so funny that your and Jon’s birthdays are so close together. My bday is also actually a week before my boyfriend’s…this past year meant that during Aug/Sep, my apartment was cake central!! I loved the truffles you made for him 🙂

    Congrats on meeting all of your goals and HAVE SO MUCH FUN IN NYC!!! I’m excited to hear allll about it 🙂

    Also, do you have any DIY xmas/holiday decoration ideas that have been on your mind lately? My roomie and I are hosting a cookie swap on Sunday and we’re trying to make the place look cute…so far we have xmas lights, paper snowflakes and we want candles, but we also want to take it up a notch haha.

  2. Oh! Happy birthday Leah! 🙂 best wishes for you and Jon! 🙂 it’s so cute, your birthdays are so close 🙂 btw, you guys look really cute in your pic from before 🙂 can’t wait to see your next posts 🙂

  3. Happy belated birthday!! I LOVE this post! Such a great way to reflect on the past month and to set goals for the coming one. I bet it really keeps you motivated! December does sound like a hectic month! However, it sounds like it’s going to be a fun and memorable one as well. I’m looking forward to enjoying a glass or two of wine now that the semester is almost over (thought this day would never come!).
    I know what you mean by trying our blogger friends’ recipes. Def more meaningful for sure!
    Don’t you just love Maura?!?! She’s such a sweetheart and her recipes are all so amazing! I hope to cook a lot more this month as well!
    As for crafts and DIY…wow…I need A LOT of help in that department. these hands…oh boy…

    • Thank you, Min! Yes, it’s great to be able to look back on what’s been accomplished and then look ahead at my never-ending to-do list – definitely keeps me motivated! 🙂

      Good luck with the end of your semester! I hope you find some time to relax and enjoy the holidays!

      Yes, Maura is the best! I love her and her blog. I’m so happy that we were able to connect through her as well.

      Don’t worry, I can help you in the DIY department! 😉

  4. Happy belated birthdays to both you and your bf! What a happy coincidence 🙂 I’m only one blog post in to your blog, and am already in love with everything. Definitely looking forward to reading more of your posts! Have you thought of a raspberry-lemonade flavoured porchcrawler for the punch? Just an idea 🙂 My go-to ratio for the BEST porchcrawler is: 8 tall boys (I like Coors Light, ha), 26 oz gin, 2 litres of sprite and 2 cans of frozen pink lemonade. I know, I know, if you’ve never had porchcrawler you are probably thinking beer and gin, what? Trust me, you can’t even taste either forms of alcohol, which of course is what makes it slightly toxic 😛 If you do end of making it, just make sure you don’t mix the frozen lemonade cans with water like you normally would if you were just making the lemonade. You can always add water for a milder taste or more sprite though. Hope I have somewhat inspired you!

    • Thank you, Lianna! I’m truly so happy that we’ve stumbled upon one anothers blogs. I definitely look forward to reading more of your posts as well! 🙂

      The raspberry-lemonade porchcrawler sounds awesome! I’ve heard of punches with beer and liquor but I’ve never actually tried one. This sounds dangerous! I’ll pass it along to my boyfriend and see what he thinks. Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. Happy birthday Leah!! You are such an inspiring young lady! I like your agenda and especially the accomplishment page 🙂

    • It’s really helped me, Maura! There’s always so much I want to accomplish that I just needed to streamline my approach; otherwise, it starts feeling overwhelming! I think it would be a great New Years resolution. 🙂

      TGIF! NYC bound in t-minus 21 hours. We’re so excited!!

  6. Happy Birthday!! I love these posts that you do! It is great to remember all of the great things we do each month and also to set goals for ourselves! It’s hard to find the time–so I like your idea. Also, thanks for trying out my recipes. I hope you liked the rosemary and cranberry spread!? 🙂

    • Thanks, Julia!! The feeling of accomplishment each month is definitely satisfying. I love being able to check/cross things off my list. 🙂

      Yes, the spread was great. I love dishes with cranberries at this time of year!

  7. Leah, it’s been a really hectic month for me ;I also need desperately to work on my blog and I am just getting to a multitude of emails.I am sorry that I missed your birthday.I hope it was great and that the coming year is allthat you could wish for!

    • No worries, Tonette. Thank you just the same. 🙂 I know exactly what you mean about things being hectic and being behind on my blog – I’m in the exact same boat! I hope to get caught up on everything this week! Happy holidays. 🙂

Leave a Reply

