[Guest Post on I&I] A Christmas Present for Daddy

After a delayed flight, Jon and I finally made it home last night.  What a whirlwind of a weekend!  We did and saw so much in such a short amount of time.  As a result, I need to catch up on all of your fantastic blog posts and comments later this week. 🙂

While I’m catching up with my office work, Kelly from Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons has sweetly agreed to do a guest post for me.  Her and her daughter, Annabelle, always share the cutest and easiest DIY projects like the one below.  Seriously, check out her blog and I’m 100% positive you’ll find some kind of inspiration.  Kelly is also hosting a ‘Clutter-Buster Boot Camp‘ series so if you’re looking to get a handle on household organization, she’s your woman!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When Leah asked me if I would write a guest post for her beautiful blog, I was touched and excited… and quickly decided to write about a little Christmas present my two year old daughter, Annabelle, made for her daddy.

I knew my husband, Mike, needed a recent picture of Annabelle for his office, so I thought giving him a framed picture of the two of them would be a perfect gift from her.  And since I like to get Annabelle in on the fun whenever I can, I thought it would be sweet if she painted the matting of the frame.

I immediately knew which photo I wanted to use.  A picture taken this summer while we were on a little family vacation.  Mike took Annabelle on the carousel while I waved and took pictures.  A lot of the photos came out blurry or were of the back of their heads as they sped by, but this one… This one came out perfect.

Mike and Annabelle August 2012
Look how happy they both look.  It makes my heart hurt a little they look so sweet.  So picking the picture was easy.  Next I found a frame at Target with a matting thick enough for her to paint away on.  When I told Annabelle we were going to make a Christmas present for daddy, she ran to her seat at the kitchen table to get ready.
Annabelle Examining Frame
I covered the table in paper, and took out the matting.
Annabelle and Matting Before
Then I gave her a little pallet of colors to paint with that I thought would complement the photo… dark and light blue and white.  I asked her if she wanted a paint brush but she said (as she always does), “No thank you, I use my fingers.”  The girl loves her finger painting. And then it was time to paint!
Annabelle Making Daddy's Christmas Present
Finger Painting Daddy's Christmas Present
And to be silly.
Annabelle Framed!
Annabelle Framed!!
When she was done, we both admired her work.  I explained that I was going to frame the matting with a picture of her and daddy.  And that it was going to be a surprise present for him for Christmas, so we couldn’t tell him about it until then.  She promised me her little lips were sealed.
Of course, about a half an hour later when Mike called from work, Annabelle got on the phone and gushed, “Daddy I made a project for you …and it’s BEAUTIFUL!”
Apparently Annabelle cannot keep a secret.  You’ve been warned.
Once the matting was dry, I framed the picture…
A Christmas Present For Daddy
…and showed Annabelle the finished result.
Annabelle Looking At Her Painting
She was pretty proud of her painting.  Which means, she’ll be telling Mike all about it as soon as he gets home.
Annabelle's Christmas Present For Daddy 2012
Come Christmas morning, will he be surprised?  Probably not.  But I think he is going to love her little gift!
P.S. If you want to read more about Annabelle and her crafting adventures, please come and visit us over at Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons.  Thanks again, Leah for inviting me to share your space today.  I am excited for you to guest post on my little blog in January!
23 thoughts on “[Guest Post on I&I] A Christmas Present for Daddy

  1. Pingback: Guest Posting On Inspire And Indulge – Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons

  2. Hi! I will jump right over to see you. How cute is that little girl????And I heard that red-heads are phasing out,genetically…well, not around here! I don’t think that any genes are going to keep THAT hue down ! Darling matte for daddy!

    • Thanks, Tonette! I’ve heard that redheads are being genetically phased out too! People have actually stopped Annabelle and I when we are out together to tell me that…or to ask us, “Where did the red hair come from?” We actually don’t know…there is a rumor that Annabelle’s great-great-great grandmother had red hair. That recessive gene is in there somewhere!! Thanks for stopping by and following my blog…

Leave a Reply

