Caramel Marshmallow Party Popcorn!

After a week hiatus, I’m back with my own post and I’m so excited to share this recipe with all of you today!

Party Popcorn

Before I get to that, I’d like to give one more huge thank-you to Sarah from Curious Cuisiniere and Kelly from Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons for filling in for me this past week.  As many of you know, Jon and I took a short trip to NYC to celebrate our birthdays, so that didn’t leave much time for blogging.  In case you missed their posts, be sure to check them out – Sarah gave us a recipe for Homemade Lightened-Up Eggnog and Kelly shared an adorable and heartfelt kid-friendly DIY project!

So are you wondering what “Party Popcorn” is yet?  Well, it’s sweet, salty, crunchy, addicting, perfect-for-gifting and doesn’t require any baking!

Earlier this month, my best friend, Lauren, and her two fabulous roommates hosted their annual ‘Holidate’ party (aka holiday date party).  As an invitee, I knew I wanted to bring a dish to pass and honestly, I feel like dessert is my trusty go-to option.  With that decided, it was time to scour Pinterest.  Within a few short minutes, I came upon a pin for ‘Caramel Marshmallow Popcorn.’  Naturally, I thought that sounded delicious and after checking out the actual recipe, I was armed with some modifications and ready to give it a try!

This recipe is so quick and easy – it requires basically no skill in the kitchen so don’t tell me you can’t cook! 😉

Gather your ingredients.  In the picture below you’ll notice that I didn’t include pretzels or peanuts even though I used them in this recipe.  The ingredients shown are the base ingredients and then you can add any kind of mix-ins that you like!

In a (very) large bowl, add your popped popcorn, broken pretzels, and peanuts (and/or any other mix-ins).

Tip:  I used 2 single serving popcorn bags by Orville Redenbacher – Kettle Corn 94% Fat Free.  I think plain healthy popcorn is the best option for this recipe since we’ll be adding so much sweetness to it by the end.

Party Popcorn_Dry Ingredients

Heat a medium sauce pan over low-medium heat and add your butter.  Once it’s completely melted, add your brown sugar, honey, vanilla, and marshmallows.  The mixture should be smooth and have a nice caramel color.

Tip:  If the mixture starts bubbling too much, lower the heat.  Make sure to keep stirring so the mixture doesn’t burn.

Party Popcorn_Caramel

Pour the melted marshmallow mixture over your popcorn and combine with a large spoon until the popcorn is evenly coated.  At this point, you could form popcorn balls or spread the mixture onto a lined baking sheet like I did.  I spread it out because I didn’t want the popcorn to harden into one huge ball.

Party Popcorn_Spread Out

Let the mixture cool and harden then break into bite-size pieces.  Make sure to store the popcorn in an airtight container because it will go stale fast.

Party Popcorn_2

Caramel Marshmallow Party Popcorn!

Inspired by Chef in Training

Makes roughly 8-10 cups

Ingredients

  • 2 single serve microwave popcorn packages, popped (such as Orville Redenbacher’s Kettle Corn 94% Fat-Free)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 15 large marshmallows
  • 1 cup skinny pretzel sticks, roughly broken
  • 1 cup unsalted/unroasted peanuts

What to Do

  1. In a (very) large bowl, add your popped popcorn, broken pretzels, and peanuts.
  2. Heat a medium sauce pan over low-medium heat and add your butter.
  3. Once it’s completely melted, add your brown sugar, honey, vanilla, and marshmallows.  The mixture should be smooth and have a nice caramel color.
  4. Pour the melted marshmallow mixture over your popcorn and combine with a large spoon until the popcorn is evenly coated.
  5.  Spread the mixture onto a lined baking sheet to cool.
  6.  Once hardened, break into bite-size pieces.  Make sure to store the popcorn in an airtight container.

You May Also Like:

28 thoughts on “Caramel Marshmallow Party Popcorn!

    • Thank you!! It was a great whirlwind of a trip.

      What other popcorn recipe were you drooling over? I think I need to make some more – it would be a perfect little gift! I’m always up for new inspiration. 🙂

    • You & I may like it… But my waistline doesn’t. ;). This was definitely a great party dish though!

      Thank you! NYC was a blast but it’s always nice to come home. Glad to hear your travels were safe and fun too!

  1. Oh my Leah; Yummy!! How long did it take to cool and become harder? I am really thinking about making this for hostess gifts!

    • This would make for great hostess gifts! It only took about 15-20 min to harden and it would be even quicker if you popped the baking sheet in the freezer for 5 minutes. Good luck! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jessi. Great suggestion – I’ve been so busy thinking of it as a party dish and/or gift that I hadn’t even considered just enjoying it around the house!

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

  3. Pingback: On the Fifth Day of Christmas Recipes: Time for Holiday Treats! | Brooklyn Locavore

    • Awesome – I love when people come back to tell me they’ve tried a recipe! I’m so happy to hear that you loved it so much. This treat is definitely addicting. 😉

  4. Oh! great idea! I might make this on the 24th for my dad, he loves to watch movies and eat his popcorn and I can prepare this in advance 🙂 Hope you had a nice time in NYC , so lucky! 🙂 glad to have you back! 🙂

    • Thank you! If your dad has a sweet tooth, I bet he’ll love it. It’s perfect for a lazy movie day.

      NYC was great – so much to see and do! Thanks for welcoming me back. I missed all of you. I’ll catch up on your blog posts soon! 🙂

  5. Pingback: On the Fifth Day of Christmas Recipes: Time for Holiday Treats! « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

