DIY Crocheted Earwarmers

Earwarmers

I don’t know about you, but I was hoping for a mild winter.  Then again, who am I kidding?  I live in upstate NY!  As much as I love pretty, white, clean snow on Christmas, I could live without below-freezing temperatures, scraping ice off my car, and trudging through dirty slush.  Maybe some day!

So for now, if you live somewhere with a similar climate, I’m sure you’ve got a stockpile of hats, gloves, and scarves like I do.  You must also know that you can never have too many!

*Cue music for the perfect winter-time DIY project*

Okay, before we get started, you need to have a basic knowledge of how to crochet.  I really do mean basic.  I had never completed a crocheted project before this.  You only need to know how to chain and double-crochet – Both of which I taught myself by watching YouTube videos (I found this video really helpful, How to Double Crochet).

I’m not even going to attempt to walk you through the basics of crocheting because I’m 150% sure that I would just confuse you.  For the rest of this post, I’m going to assume you know how to crochet.  If you don’t, I’m sorry!  My next DIY will be dedicated to you!

If you’re still with me, you’re either already super crafty or just motivated to learn the basics – either way, I like it!  Let’s get started!

Using a size K crochet hook, cast on 70-80.  This is a wide range because it depends on how tightly you crochet.

Tip:  I just kept wrapping the chain of stitches around my head until I estimated it would fit.  Very scientific, I know. 😉

Now, double-crochet in the 4th chain from the hook and all remaining chains.  Repeat this process until the piece is as wide as you’d like it.

Tip:  I did 7 rows.

Earwarmers_Swatch

Next, cut a piece of fleece to line the inside.

Tip:  I simple placed the crocheted swatch on top of the fleece and cut the fleece to size.

Earwarmers_Materials

Earwarmers_Adding Fleece

Sew the fleece liner to the crocheted swatch by following all four edges.  (Yes, I sewed mine by hand because I don’t know how to use a sewing machine :().

Earwarmers_Sewing Fleece

Once the fleece has been sewn in, stitch the short ends together to close the headband.

Earwarmers_Stitched

All done!  Try it on. 🙂  If you’d like you can take it a step further by embellishing with flowers, buttons, beads, etc.  I chose to keep mine plain and use fun colorful yarn instead.

These make great gifts too!  I made 5 for Christmas presents this past year.

Earwarmers

DIY Crocheted Earwarmers

Inspired by All About Ami

Materials

  • Size K crochet hook
  • 1 skein of size 4 worsted weight yarn
  • fleece fabric, 4″ x 36″
  • sewing needle & thread
  • scissors

What to Do

  1. Chain 70-80 or until the chain is long enough to wrap around your head.
  2. Double-crochet in the 4th chain from the hook and all remaining chains.
  3. Repeat Step #2 until the piece is as wide as you’d like it (I did 7 rows).
  4. Cut a piece of fleece to line the inside.
  5. Sew the fleece liner to the crocheted swatch by following all four edges.
  6. stitch the short ends together to close the headband.
  7. Optional: Embellish with flowers, buttons, beads, etc.

You May Also Like:

36 thoughts on “DIY Crocheted Earwarmers

    • Thank you, Brandi! They are definitely so soft! Next time I might even use the yarn meant for babies so they’ll be even softer. 🙂 I’m definitely an amateur at sewing so it was slow-going for me to add the fleece. I’m sure it would’ve been a breeze for you!

  1. Ahh those are super adorable!! I totally, totally want to make and wear these even though I don’t REALLY need earwarmers and I would stick out like a sore thumb at my office. Someday, when I’m living on the east coast…

  2. Very cute! I’ve taken knitting classes at JoAnn’s and been busy knitting scarves lately. However, I don’t know anything about crochet. Is it very different? I ordered an ear warmer from Etsy, and I spent almost $30. I’d love to make it myself and use that money on scrumptious eats ;). Happy Monday!

    • That’s awesome you knit scarves! To be honest, I’ve started multiple scarves (both knitting and crocheting) but I’ve never finished one! I guess I don’t have the patience which is why these earwarmers were a perfect project for me.

      I think crocheting is a little bit easier to learn than knitting because there’s only one hook to deal with. However, it takes some time getting used to how you should hold it and then how to hold the yarn as you work. I’m sure you could pick it up by watching a couple YouTube videos since you already know how to knit!

      • It does require a lot of patience, that’s for sure. I knitted a baby blanket for my nephew (turning 1 next year!! time sure flies) and that took FOREVER! I thought I was developing carpal tunnel!

        I tried watching some youtube videos but I think I def need someone to guide my fingers and such. I found it to be hard to follow for some reason. I may take some classes at Jo-Ann’s ;). These ear warmers are just way too cute! Hope you’re having a great week so far, Leah!

        • Let me know if you end up taking a class at Jo-Ann’s. I’ve always wanted to take one but I don’t know anyone who has so I don’t know what they’re like. Good luck!

    • Thank you! I think crocheting is really easy to pick up if you’ve already got a knitting background. Plus, once you get the hang of it, I think it goes a lot faster! There are some great YouTube videos to watch if you decide to get into it. 🙂

    • Let me know when you’re ready – I’d be happy to send you some links of the videos I watched or to answer any questions you may have. 🙂

    • Ahhh, I’m sorry to hear that haha. Where are you located? I actually can’t complain about the weather right now since it’s supposed to warm up this week and even be in the 40’s by Saturday!

    • Thank you! You’re right – I remember seeing your Christmas winter wonderland pictures with all of your snow! If you’re interested in learning how to crochet, there are lots of easy-to-follow YouTube videos. 🙂

    • That was so kind of you to say – I’m honestly flattered! This project really isn’t that bad though. I’m such an amateur when it comes to crocheting and sewing so if I can do it, I’m sure a lot of others can too!

    • Thanks, Julia! I am really happy with how well they turned out. I saw you were in Cleveland for the holidays – us too! Hope you had a great time and didn’t have to drive through that storm right before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

