[Paleo] Sausage & Sweet Potato Frittata

Paleo Frittata_2

Paleo Update:  Since my last post, many of you have left comments or contacted me to say you’re interested in hearing about the January Paleo Challenge that Jon and I are currently doing.  So I’ve decided to include a “Paleo Update” with each Paleo-inspired recipe that I post.  I’ll give you a quick inside look at how we feel throughout the month and what we think about the lifestyle.

It honestly hasn’t been as painful as one would expect a “diet” to be.  That’s not to say we haven’t had cravings (sugar for me, beer for Jon) and/or been grumpy at all.  For better or worse, here are some of our random thoughts and realizations so far:

  • A Paleo lifestyle is not cheap!  LOTS of fresh produce, grass-fed meats, wild-caught seafood and odd products like coconut oil really add up.  I’m not saying the cost isn’t worth it but just be ready for your 1st Paleo grocery bill!
  • I’ve gone to bed hungry 60-70% of the time.  It’s not that I’ve been starving but I’ve definitely felt like I could eat more.  Guess that’s my stomach shrinking.
  • Jon and I have been keeping a food journal via the My Fitness Pal iPhone app and we’ve been amazed at how few calories we’ve been consuming even though we eat 3 full meals and have multiple snacks throughout the day.
  • Sweet potatoes are a lifesaver – thank goodness we started this challenge already loving them!  We literally split a sweet potato every day because they’re so satisfying (get ready for lots of sweet potato recipes! ;)).

If you have any specific questions that weren’t answered in my random snippets above, please feel free to leave a comment and/or e-mail me (LeahMC0612 [at] gmail [dot] com).

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

So back to today’s regularly scheduled programming.  I have an awesome frittata to share with you.  It’s got so many colors (aka nutritional benefits) and doesn’t make you feel like you’re on a diet, even for a second!

When I came across Sasha’s Potato and Squash Frittata, it looked so good that I knew I had to make some Paleo modifications and make it immediately.  Also, Jon and I just received a cast-iron skillet for Christmas and have been dying to use it!

Another bonus to this frittata is that you’ll have plenty of leftovers… aka breakfast (or lunch/dinner) for a week!  Plus, it’s filled to the brim with delicious nutritious veggies!

Start by preheating your oven to 375 degrees (F).  Next, brown and crumble your sausage and set aside.

Paleo Frittata_Sausage

Slice your sweet potato (aka the Paleo lifesaver) into thin slices and line the bottom of your cast-iron skillet.

Tip:  I used a cast-iron skillet but if you don’t have one, you can still make this recipe!  Just use a 13″ x 9″ baking dish instead.

Paleo Frittata_Sweet Potato

Scatter the sausage crumbles on top of the sweet potato layer.  Now, add your chosen veggies – I added broccoli florets, tomato and sliced mushrooms.

Paleo Frittata_Prebake

In a separate bowl, whisk your eggs, egg whites, crushed red pepper and ground black pepper.

Tip:  You’ll notice I didn’t add any salt.  Since I was using prepackaged sausage I figured there would already be plenty and I was right.  You’re welcome to add salt if you like things a bit saltier.

Carefully pour the egg mixture into your baking dish/cast-iron skillet.

Pop that in your preheated oven and let it bake for 30-40 minutes, or until your eggs are set and the edges are just beginning to brown.

Tip:  I checked mine at 30 minutes and the eggs were still slightly jiggly.  I ended up taking it out at 35 minutes.

Paleo Frittata_Postbake

Let the dish cool for a couple minutes then cut into (8) slices and serve warm with a sprinkle of green onion.

Mmm, healthy and delicious!  This is certainly a hearty and satisfying way to start your day.

Tip:  Put your leftover slices in tupperware and you’ve got breakfast on the go!  This dish reheats and travels well.

Paleo Frittata

[Paleo] Sausage & Sweet Potato Frittata

Inspired by Chez Sasha

Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 1 16oz sausage roll, like Bob Evan’s Original Recipe (We realize this may not be 100% Paleo but it’s the best we could do after checking ingredients)
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 2 cups chosen veggies (i.e. broccoli florets, tomatoes, mushrooms, peppers, spinach, asparagus)
  • 7 eggs + 5 egg whites
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • Optional: 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper

What to Do

  1. Preheating oven to 375 degrees (F).
  2. Brown and crumble the sausage and set aside.
  3. Slice the sweet potato into thin slices and line the bottom of your cast-iron skillet or baking dish.
  4. Scatter the sausage crumbles on top of the sweet potato layer.
  5. Add your chosen veggies on top of the sausage.
  6. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, egg whites, crushed red pepper and ground black pepper.
  7. Carefully pour the egg mixture into your baking dish/cast-iron skillet.
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until your eggs are set and the edges are just beginning to brown.
  9. Let the dish cool for a couple minutes then cut into (8) slices and serve warm with a sprinkle of green onion.
25 thoughts on “[Paleo] Sausage & Sweet Potato Frittata

  1. I am such a fan of reading about your paleo challenge! That frittata looks so loaded with goodness 🙂

    I’ve been trying to eat clean and stick to my no-sugar challenge and I can totally relate to that feeling of your stomach shrinking when you go to bed hungry! I’m super excited to (hopefully) finally lose the 10 lbs I gained in college! Do you feel like you’re going to lose weight on this diet? Sure sounds like it!

    • Yay, I’m glad to hear you’re still sticking with your no-sugar challenge! Sounds odd but I’m hoping to lose the 10lbs I gained AFTER college haha.

      I definitely think I’m going to lose weight while on Paleo due to the lack of sugar and carbs. I’m also making an effort to work out at least 3 times a week. Since January 1st, I’ve lost 4.5lbs but I think the majority of that is just water weight and detoxing after the holiday eating. At the end of the month I’ll let you know how much I lost! 🙂

      • Woooo!! 4.5 lbs is a great accomplishment no matter how you slice it! Congrats. I’m excited to see what your number is at the end of January. You’ll be my virtual weight-loss inspiration!

    • Ahhh, the combo is SO good. I’m even considering adding a second sweet potato next time to beef up the bottom layer. I’m glad to hear you’re a sweet potato fan because I have plenty of recipes incorporating sweet potatoes coming your way!

  2. I love sweet potatoes too, could eat one for lunch or dinner everyday 🙂 Now I can eat it for breakfast too!

    Question about your cast iron skillet…did it come pre-seasoned and have you found it to be non-stick? I bought a Lodge one last year, and actually ended up returning it. I couldn’t get past that it wasn’t really non-stick (although perhaps I needed to give it more time) and that clean-up was a bit of a hassle. I really wanted to like it, but just couldn’t get used to it!

    • Funny you should ask about the cast-iron skillet. Neither Jon nor I had ever owned one before and we started cooking with it just as we would a regular non-stick pan. We were in for a surprise. Come to find out it’s not pre-seasoned and it’s definitely NOT non-stick. I can understand why you returned yours – I can’t believe you can’t use soap or let it soak in water! It’s a challenge to clean it for sure. I think we’ll have to do some research on how to use it better.

    • Before you buy a cast-iron skillet, check out the comments between My Healthy ‘Ohana and myself (above). There are some cautions before you buy one!

      You’re right – this is not “diet” food by most standards… which is why the Paleo challenge is working well for us!

  3. I’m following your Adventures in Paleo with a lot of interest. My husband is a huge fan of grass-fed beef, says he can taste a huge difference. Sounds like something we should consider — especially as I am slowly coming to grips with the fact that I’m seriously addicted to sugar. Was the sugar withdrawal rough and did you just white-knuckle it to get through it?

    • I love the phrase “Adventures in Paleo.” So much more uplifting and positive than “Paleo diet.” 😉

      That’s great your husband is a big fan of grass-fed beef. I’m not sure that I can taste a huge difference but maybe my palate isn’t refined enough. However, Jon and I can both taste a huge difference between wild-caught fish and farm-raised. The wild-caught salmon we’re now buying tastes like salmon from a high quality restaurant! It’s also much more red than orange in the frozen package. Have you or your husband tried wild-caught seafood?

      The sugar withdrawal was definitely tough but only for the first week. I think it was the hardest then because you’re stomach is also trying to shrink at the same time. In order to get through the tough time, I ended up making a Paleo Coconut Cake (recipe soon!) to satisfy my sweet tooth while still adhering to the diet.

      Let me know if you and your family/husband decide to give it a go. I’d be happy to answer any more questions you may have! 🙂

  4. I appreciate your wonderful spirit Leah!! Sweet potato always catches my eye and I do love this recipe right in a skillet! Delicious!

  5. Pingback: Elegant Easy Frittata Dinner « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

