DIY Glittered Candles

Glitter Candles_5

Remember in my January Ambitions I stated that I wanted to share at least two DIY projects that I made for Christmas presents?  Well, the Crocheted Earwarmers were the first project and this post actually contains 2 in 1!  I’m going to share how I created glittered candle holders and the corresponding scented candle that fills it.

Of all the Christmas presents I made this year (and there were quite a few!), this project was my favorite.  All of the steps are fun, easy and customizable!  These make a great little gift for anyone in your life – girlfriends, teachers, moms, etc.

For the first half of this project, you will need:

  • a small glass candle holder – I got mine at Michael’s for $1.00 and it was roughly 3″ in diameter at it’s widest part.
  • mod podge – I used the Gloss (orange label) version.
  • a paint brush – I used one of those cheap foam brushes for about $0.50 and I would highly recommend you use one of these too.  It makes the spreading of the mod podge easier and can be used as a sponge too.
  • loose glitter – I bought the Martha Stewart coarse glitter in rose quartz.

To decorate your candle holder, just start painting your mod podge where you’d like the glitter to be.  I painted a wide stripe around the middle but you could get as creative as you’d like!  Here are a few suggestions: chevron pattern, stencils, vertical stripes.

Tip:  I found it was easier to keep my stripe clean and straight if I painted short strokes from top to bottom.

Glitter Candles_Mod Podge

Work in 2-3 inch increments.  After you paint the mod podge on, immediately shake the glitter on.  Remove excess glitter.  Make sure to cover your workspace otherwise you’ll be seeing glitter for months!

I did a batch of 4 and let them all dry overnight.  The next day I applied a thin coat of mod podge on top of the glitter to seal it.  Don’t worry; it will dry clear!

Tip:  You don’t need to let the candle holders dry over night if you don’t want to.  30-60 minutes would be enough.

Now that you’ve made your candle holders, let’s get started on making the candle.  For the latter half of this project, you will need:

  • your newly created candle holder(s)
  • candle wax flakes – I suggest soy wax flakes because they burn cleaner and longer.
  • wicks and holders – These can be bought separately or together.  For convenience, I bought them together.  Make sure you buy wicks that are tall enough to sit in your candle holder and still stick out at the top.
  • essential oil – This is optional if you’d like to make your candle scented.

Glitter Candles_Supplies

Place your wick and wick holder in the center of your candle holder.

Glitter Candles_Placing Wick

Fill a large microwaveable measuring cup with your wax flakes.

Glitter Candles_Wax Flakes

I filled a 2 cup measuring cup and microwaved it for 2.5 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds – Make sure you check your package to confirm that your wax flakes are microwaveable.

Tip:  2 cups of wax flakes will yield roughly 1 cup of melted wax.

Glitter Candles_Melted Wax

Once your wax flakes are completely melted, stir in your essential oil.  For one cup of melted wax, I added 1/8 teaspoon of scent but I think I should’ve/could’ve added more.

Tip:  I used a disposable chopstick as a stir-stick throughout this entire process.

Gently hold the top of the candle wick and slowly pour your melted wax into your candle holder.  You want to hold the top of the wick because it will undoubtedly slide around in the holder.  After you’ve added as much wax as you’d like, carefully reposition the wick so it’s in the center of the candle.

Glitter Candles_Filling Holder

That’s it!  Time to let the candles set and firm up so go catch up on your favorite show, do some reading, or partake in whatever your favorite relaxation activity is. 🙂

Depending on the size of your candle holder, your candle should be set within 1-3 hours.  I filled my candle holders with roughly 1/2 cup of melted wax and they were set in less than 2 hours.  You’ll know yours is set when the wax is a solid white.

Glitter Candles_5

Pretty, huh?  Just snip the wick and they’re ready for wrapping (or burning if you keep it for yourself – not judging!).

DIY Glitter Glasses with Homemade Candles

Inspired by Brunch at Saks

Makes 2 candles

Materials (Candle Holders)

  • 2 small glass candle holders (old jars, $1 jars from craft store, etc)
  • Mod Podge (Gloss finish)
  • coarse glitter (like Martha Stewart’s)

What to Do (Candle Holders)

  1. Cover your work surface to catch any loose glitter.
  2. Paint the mod podge where you’d like the glitter to be, working in 2-3 inch increments.
  3. Immediately shake glitter on each mod podge section.  Shake off excess.
  4. Let dry.
  5. Apply a thin coat of mod podge on top of the glitter to seal it.  Don’t worry; it will dry clear.
  6. Let dry.

Materials (Candles)

  • foam brush
  • 1lb soy wax flakes
  • 2 wicks with holders
  • liquid measuring cup
  • optional: essential oil
  • scissors

What to Do (Candles)

  1. Place the wick and wick holder in the center of your candle holder.
  2. Before proceeding, check your package to confirm that your wax flakes are microwaveable.
  3. Fill a microwaveable measuring cup with 2 cups of wax flakes.
  4. Microwave it for 2.5 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds.
  5. Once the wax flakes are completely melted, stir in your essential oil.  For one cup of melted wax, I added 1/8 teaspoon of scent but I think I should’ve/could’ve added more.
  6. Gently hold the top of the candle wick and slowly pour 1/2 of the melted wax into one candle holder.  You want to hold the top of the wick because it will undoubtedly slide around in the holder.  After you’ve added as much wax as you’d like, carefully reposition the wick so it’s in the center of the candle.
  7. Repeat Step #6 with the second candle.
  8. Let your candles sit until they’re set.  The wax will solidify and turn white.
  9. Trim your candle wick and enjoy.

You May Also Like:

14 thoughts on “DIY Glittered Candles

  1. I love it!!! Those are super adorable and so customizable–I’m thinking pink for Valentine’s day, red/white/blue for 4th of July, orange for Halloween…oh man. If I had my way, my apartment would be candle central with these!!

    • Thanks, Erika! You’re right – the glitter color options are ENDLESS! Since they’re so cheap to make, it really would be possible to change them with every season/holiday haha.

    • Thanks, Julia! These are definitely really easy. You can literally paint any kind of design you like and if you mess up, you can simply wipe the mod podge off and keep going. 🙂

      Hope you had a great New Year as well. I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings!

  2. What a cute and fun project! I can def use some sparkle in my life ;). It seems simple enough (way to go on the amazing step-by-step instructions!) but leave it to me to mess up..If I succeed, I’m DEF keeping it for myself! hehe

    • Thanks, Min! I think they look a lot more fun and fancy than I had originally hoped for. They truly are a simple project! I was thinking a circle/dot sponge would be a fun alternative to the stripe I did – that way you don’t have to worry about keeping a straight line.

  3. Leah, what a great idea! Really cute, inexpensive, safe, useful, and beautifully glittered!! You did a great job 🙂

Leave a Reply

