[Paleo] Bacon Wrapped Honey Mustard Chicken

Paleo Update:  We are officially 3 weeks into our Paleo challenge!  On one hand, it feels like so much has changed in 3 weeks (stomachs shrinking, eating new foods, random cravings) but on the other hand, it feels like we’re in a nice routine and Paleo has become our new version of normal.  I guess any big change is like that – if you just keep with it, it won’t seem new and different after too long.  Random musings:

  • I’ve never been a huge chocolate fan but throughout the past 3 weeks, I’ve had moments where I would do just about anything for a piece of chocolate (mmm, Ghiradelli squares, Reeses peanut butter cups, Hershey kisses…).
  • Cashew butter has been our go-to pick-me-up when we need to add some calories or fat (or just need something delicious).  It’s expensive ($10 for 16oz) so I’m really interested in making my own nut butter but I don’t have a very strong food processor.  Has anyone tried to make their own nut butters without a Vitamix or heavy-duty machine?  Please let me know!
  • A Paleo lifestyle requires prep work.  Unfortunately, there’s no Paleo fast food chains so you have to cook or prepare just about every single meal.  By the end of this, Jon and I should be culinary geniuses. 😉
  • It’s SO easy to sneak veggies into your meals.  Example:  Jon made spaghetti squash with a red meat sauce and added (boiled & mashed) cauliflower to the sauce.  It was completely undetectable but the sauce was nice and hearty!  Between the spaghetti squash “pasta” and the hidden cauliflower, double veggies!  Another example:  When we make burgers, instead of eat them in buns, we wrap them in romaine lettuce leaves – refreshing and light!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Bacon Wrapped Chicken_2

I know the title of this post is a mouthful but after you try this recipe you’ll know that it’s a mouthful of deliciousness!  First, who doesn’t like bacon?  I mean, you could just about put it in anything and it’d be awesome.  Second, honey and mustard pair so well together – sweet and savory!  Third, this recipe is super simple and you don’t even need to marinate the chicken ahead of time.

Start by preheating your oven to 400 degrees (F) and line a baking dish with aluminum foil or lightly coat it with olive oil.

Next, combine your honey and mustard in a small dish and microwave for 20-30 seconds and stir.

Bacon Wrapped Chicken_Honey Mustard Sauce

Using a small pastry brush, thoroughly coat each chicken breast with the honey mustard mixture.  At this point, you can also sprinkle any additional seasonings if you wish (i.e. onion powder, garlic powder, crushed red pepper flakes).

Tip:  If you don’t have a pastry brush, just spoon the mixture onto the chicken and spread it around.  No need to perfection on this step!

Bacon Wrapped Chicken_Honey Mustard Coating

Once the chicken has been coated, carefully wrap a piece of bacon around each breast and place on your baking dish.

Bacon Wrapped Chicken_Prebake

Use whatever honey mustard sauce you have left to apply a second coat to the top of each chicken breast.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until the juices run clear.

Tip:  If you want your bacon a bit crispy, broil for 1-2 minutes.

Enjoy with a hearty side of vegetables – like sweet potato and brussel sprout hash.

Bacon Wrapped Chicken_1

[Paleo] Bacon Wrapped Honey Mustard Chicken

Inspired by You hunt. I gather.

Makes 3 chicken breasts

Ingredients

  • 3 chicken breasts (roughly 1.5lbs total)
  • 3 teaspoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons stadium mustard
  • 3 slices uncooked bacon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional: onion powder, garlic powder, crushed red pepper flakes

What to Do

  1. Preheating oven to 400 degrees (F) and line a baking dish with aluminum foil or lightly coat it with olive oil.
  2. Combine the honey and mustard in a small dish and microwave for 20-30 seconds and stir.
  3. Using a small pastry brush, thoroughly coat each chicken breast with the honey mustard mixture.  At this point, you can also sprinkle any additional seasonings if you wish.
  4. Once the chicken has been coated, carefully wrap a piece of bacon around each breast and place on your baking dish.
  5. Use whatever honey mustard sauce you have left to apply a second coat to the top of each chicken breast.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the juices run clear.
35 thoughts on “[Paleo] Bacon Wrapped Honey Mustard Chicken

  1. Oh… this is something my Jon would love. I’m always thinking of new ways to marinate it when I make it for him. Why have I never thought of honey-mustard?! Love this!! (from: the vegetarian, haha.)
    -JulieC

    • Yes, thank you! That’s the thing about Paleo – so much of the focus is on meats and how to prepare them that they pretty much work for anyone (that’s not a vegetarian)! So you definitely don’t need to be on a diet to incorporate some Paleo-friendly recipes. 🙂

    • Thank you – mine too! I was SO excited when I looked at the ingredients of stadium mustard (from Ohio) and found that it was Paleo! I checked lots of different mustards at my local grocery store and they all contained sugar so this was a great mid-Paleo revelation!

  2. That looks completely delicious! Chicken, bacon, and honey mustard are three things that just seem like they belong together. I really wish Zach would eat mustard….:( I may make it anyway and see if he notices. Sometimes if I don’t tell him what something is, he has no idea it’s something he claims to hate. 😛

    I’ve been wondering about how to make nut butters, too. What kind of food processor do you have?

    • Oh Chelsey, you should definitely make this chicken and not tell Zach it has mustard! I used stadium mustard (from Ohio) but I bet any brown (not yellow!) mustard would work really well. It’s not like the mustard is overpowering at all. If anything, the sweetness of the honey really shines through. Let me know if you give it a try and what Zach’s reaction is. 😉

      I’m not even sure of the exact model of my food processor. My mom gave it to me like 5 years ago. It’s this little Cuisinart thing. I haven’t even attempted to make nut butters because I’m scared it’ll just break.

  3. Yum yum yum that looks awesome!! I hear you on the chocolate. I have just given up and I eat it probably every other day… is it paleo, meh not so much, but kicking butt in work outs and eating good the rest of the time is a good hand of right!?

    • Thanks, Megan – this recipe really did turn out scrumptuous. I’ll definitely be making it again soon. Bacon anything is a win!

      I don’t blame you for eating chocolate every other day. After our strict month of January, I’m sure I’ll probably do the same. However, I don’t work out nearly as hard or as often as you so you can get away with it! Out of curiosity, do you only stick with dark chocolate with a high percent of cocoa or do you indulge in any forms?

  4. Leah, 3 weeks – Congratulations again!! Bacon wrapped says it all! I love the thought of bacon wrapping chicken. The recipe sounds so good and the pictures look delicious.

  5. That looks mighty tasty! I also love the idea of spaghetti squash with cauliflower sauce. So many great ideas…

    Oh, and as far as the food processor question, I’ve made almond butter-type things a couple times in my parents’ old machine from the early 80’s. It worked fine–I just had to let it run for a while.

    • Thank you! I know – I was blown away when Jon added the cauliflower to the sauce and it was undetectable. He’s sneaky!

      I’m SO happy you commented about your food processor. That’s so encouraging to hear. I think I may suck it up and give it a go soon!

    • Thank you three times! I’m glad the recipe appeals to you – please let me know how it turns out if/when you make it!

      I’m so excited you noticed the small changes I’ve been making around Inspire and Indulge. It’s a slow process!

    • Paleo would DEFINITELY be a great fitness/pre-wedding jump start! Even if you only start out with the intention of doing it for a month (like me), I’m sure much of the ideaology, recipes, and motivation will stick with you! Let me know if you have any Paleo questions – I’d be happy to answer what I can! 🙂

  6. This sounds really simple and delicious!! I’m going to give it a try tonight, was just wondering what I was going to make for our dinner 🙂 It’s so amazing that you guys have already made it through 3 weeks, glad that you are noticing some positive changes!

    • It really is simple! I couldn’t believe the flavor without even marinating the chicken. The prep time probably took me 7 minutes and then I just popped the chicken in the oven! I’m excited that you’re making it for dinner tonight. Let me know what you think (good or bad)!

      Thanks for your support with our Paleo challenge! 🙂

  7. I absolutely love your idea of wrapping the burger in romaine lettuce leaves. I find a whole burger to be quite heavy so this is a wonderful alternative I will have to try! Thanks Leah! ~Thea

    • I know what you mean! One of my friends that started the Paleo lifestyle before me, summed up carbs really well. He said that if you think about it, carbs usually just serve as the vehicle for the GOOD part of the meal that you should be eating. Examples: sandwich bread, rolls, pasta, and rice all “carry” meat, seafood, and vegetables. I thought that was a brilliant insight.

  8. Pingback: Recipe: Sarlabeth’s Hot Mustard | Crossroads Homestead

  9. This recipe came in handy today! Zach wanted me to make BBQ chicken, but then I realized at the last minute that someone had opened the BBQ sauce and then put it back in the cabinet. I’ve had it in the cabinet for about six months, so who knows when that happened. The only thing I had left was mustard, which made me think of this recipe. So Zach got some Surprise Honey Mustard chicken (minus the bacon, since I didn’t have any)…and he actually really liked it! Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply

