[DIY] Personalized Crayon Wall Art

Inspire & Indulge Update:  I have officially joined the world of Facebook and Twitter with I&I specific accounts.  I’d love for you to follow me! 🙂

Today I have something super special to share with you!  Correction:  Today JON has something super special to share with you.  That’s right, Jon has created his own DIY project with a tutorial AND he wrote up the post.  Basically, he’s guest posting for me today!

This post is perfectly timed with Valentine’s Day just a couple of days away.  If you’re still trying to figure out a last minute present, this would be an AMAZING gift (trust me, I would know ;)).

If you’re wondering how this came about, let me tell you a little backstory.  As I mentioned in my DIY Date Night Cards post, we celebrated our two-year anniversary in January.  Unbeknownst to either of us, we both ended up making a homemade present for the other.  (I knew my love of crafting would rub off eventually, haha).  For his gift, Jon made this meaningful piece of wall art with melted crayons and sentimental song lyrics.

I’ll let him tell you the rest…

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

With the holidays over and a new year underway, it is a great time to reflect on the previous year and all of the memories made.  For Leah and I, this is especially important because we celebrated our two-year anniversary on January 3rd.  I figured this would be the perfect opportunity to make something for Leah to memorialize our two years together.  Of course, the hardest part is figuring out what to make that can truly represent an amazing relationship.

So I was driving around and listening to the radio when Weezer’s “Say It Ain’t So” started playing.  Immediately, I started remembering 8th grade wrestling when I would listen to this song non-stop before a match.  And that’s when it hit me.  What better way to recall important moments and memories than through music.

Leah and I have gone to seven concerts since we’ve been together; New Found Glory twice, Train, Mumford & Sons, Chevelle, Jack’s Mannequin, and The Clarks.  One of the many things I love about Leah is her taste in music and her willingness to try new types of music.  This idea was perfect!  But now I had to figure out what to make.  Luckily, my sister Jenny is known for making pieces of art that incorporates song lyrics.  I decided I would pick lyrics from the seven concerts Leah and I attended and create something with some guidance from my sister (thanks Jen).  In the end, I was able to create something that truly represents our relationship.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Inspire-and-Indulge

First, you’ll need to get a picture frame for your piece. Choose something that is large enough to fit several lines of lyrics (I used a 9×13 size frame).  Next, choose a background color and cut a piece of construction paper to fit inside the frame (I simply cut the yellow paper to the size of the cardboard on the back of the frame).

Now, choose some crayons that you would like to melt onto the construction paper.  I used lime green, blue, red, and purple.  Remove the crayon wrappers and take a pair of scissors, or anything with a sharp edge, and shave the crayons.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Crayon-Shavings

Then take the crayon shavings and place them on the construction paper.  I decided to put all the shavings on at once but you can do it section by section if you prefer.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Shavings-on-Background

From here, you are going to melt the crayon shavings by placing parchment or wax paper on top of the shavings and applying an iron to melt them.  Again, I chose to cover the entire picture with parchment paper but you can do it section by section.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Parchment-Paper

You should be able to see the shavings melt through the parchment paper.  Once you are done melting all sections remove the parchment paper.  I slid the parchment paper off to create a smear effect.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Crayon-Smear

Next are the lyrics.  There are several ways to go about this but I found some semi-transparent paper and decided to write the lyrics by hand.  My sister uses completely transparent paper and prints the lyrics on it.  Either way, you’re the artist so do what you want.  Once you have the lyrics, simply hot glue them to the picture.

Crayon-Wall-Art_Lyrics

Now all you have to do is put the picture in the frame and you’re done!  Pretty simple but a great way to create an original piece of art.

Crayon-Wall-Art_2-Inspire-and-Indulge

[DIY] Personalized Crayon Wall Art

Created by Jon Novak with help from Jenny Rogaliner

Materials

  • picture frame with cardboard backing
  • construction paper, poster board, etc large enough to fit the frame
  • several different color crayons
  • scissors
  • parchment paper
  • iron
  • semi-transparent paper
  • marker for writing
  • glue

What to Do

  1. Cut your background paper to the size of the cardboard on the back of the frame.
  2. Remove the crayon wrappers and take a pair of scissors, or anything with a sharp edge, and shave the crayons.
  3. Artfully or randomly take the crayon shavings and place them on the background paper.
  4. Placing parchment paper on top of the shavings and applying an iron to melt them.  You should be able to see the shavings melt through the parchment paper.  Once you are done melting all sections remove the parchment paper.  I slid the parchment paper off to create a smear effect.
  5. Write your personal message(s) on the semi-transparent paper or use completely transparent paper and prints your message(s).
  6. Cut the (semi)-transparent paper to size and simply glue them to the picture.  I used a hot glue gun and adhered with 4 dots in the corners.
  7. Put the picture back in the frame and you’re done!

You May Also Like:

43 thoughts on “[DIY] Personalized Crayon Wall Art

  1. OH my god I just died. This is SO CUTE.

    1) Jon is a great writer! I’ve read several guest posts from boyfriends/siblings that are practically illiterate. This was the opposite.
    2) NFG was my JAM in 8th grade!! ❤
    3) I just….can't. You guys are both so crafty and creative and cute. LOVE IT.

    • Hahaha, thank you, Erika! I was honestly blown away by the gift itself and then when he handed over a print-out of his post, I was like, “No way!”

      I saw the Instagram pic of the surprise breakfast waffles. Also, adorable!! Those cut up strawberries looked like the perfect pairing too. I bet Erik loved it! 🙂

  2. Great project! I love that you incorporated lyrics from the bands you’ve heard in concert.

    I also think it’s fantastic that you both made something for each other for Valentine’s Day. So meaningful!

    • Thanks, Joan. I can’t believe what a coincidence it was that we both made a gift and they both turned out beautifully. I love that Jon used those lyrics too – so many memories in one frame! 🙂

  3. This is seriously adorable and I loved reading all the cute things he had to say about your relationship! It’s funny because my John and I actually just celebrated our 2 year anniversary in January also! This is so creative and really personal. Love it.

    • They definitely are! Just thinking about how he went to Michael’s and found all of these materials himself and then locked himself in the spare bedroom to make this melts my heart. 😉

    • Thanks, Stephanie. I LOVE that he used lyrics from each of the bands we’ve seen live. Plus, if/when we go to more concerts, we can still add to this!

  4. I am SO in love with this idea! Great job Jon!!! I love the creativity, the color, and the incorporation of the song lyrics specific to the concerts you’ve been to! Our one year wedding anniversary is coming up in April and I am totally thinking that this would be a great gift and I could use all (or most) of the lyrics to our wedding song! Oh, and now I am also thinking this would make great wedding/anniversary gifts to friends and family with their songs on it. Ok, now I need like 50 boxes of crayons and I’m good to go! 🙂 (Um, can you tell that I am super excited about this)
    Kenley

  5. Leah, this is outside of the box outstanding!! I love this personalization and art 🙂
    You are incredible!! I love it 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness! This just melted my heart! Jon, you rock! This sounds like something even I can recreate. Instead of song lyrics, I’m going to include my favorite bible verses. Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Fantastic art gift! Now a husband that puts this much time, effort and thought into a gift is definitely a keeper in my book. Very happy for you both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

