[Paleo] Mini Banana Pumpkin Muffins

I&I Update:  Don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a free 32oz jar (quart) of coconut oil from Tropical Traditions!  Click here to find out how to enter. [GIVEAWAY CLOSED]

Paleo Update:  So I think we may have been a little ambitious.  In theory, sticking to an 80% Paleo lifestyle seemed do-able after going 100% for 31 days.  In reality, not so easy.  I’d estimate that Jon and I are living a 50% Paleo-friendly lifestyle:

  • Breakfasts and lunches are the easiest for us to keep Paleo.  We usually just eat leftovers from dinner or eggs and veggies.  If we’re in a hurry, we’ve been grabbing an AMRAP Refuel bar to eat on the go.  I won a free box of these from Megan at Food and Fitness – Thanks, Megan!
  • Dinners are usually pretty good as well.  That is, as long as we eat at home.
  • Our downfall comes in two forms: desserts and eating out.  This was poor planning on my part but I decided to take the Course I Wilton Cake Decorating Class at my local Michael’s during the month of February.  Each week we have to make either a cake or cupcakes and 3+ cups of frosting.  It’s impossible not to eat this for dessert every night!
  • Besides our excess desserts, we feel like we’ve been eating out a lot more but in reality we’re eating out about 3 meals a week (0 to 3 feels like a huge change!).  When you think about it, 3 of 21 meals isn’t that bad.  Our problem is how many calories we consume on the days we eat out – usually double our goal!
  • Overall, we have to keep reminding ourselves that this is a lifestyle.  We can’t expect to make all of these huge changes in 1-2 months.  We’ve definitely made progress and now we need to reinforce the good habits/choices we’ve started and continue to slowly incorporate more Paleo-friendly choices as we creep towards our 80% goal.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Banana Pumpkin Muffins_1

Does anyone else have snack cravings at 10:30AM and 3:30PM every day?  Mine are pretty much like clockwork so I always need to have snacks on hand at work.  Lately, I’ve been sticking to red grapes or almonds but I needed to switch it up.

Enter banana pumpkin mini muffins!  These are a guilt-free and satisfying little treat (I mean, snack) – Each one is roughly 50 calories!  Since they’re Paleo-friendly, you know that means they don’t have any refined sugar and they’re gluten-free.  Just like with my Paleo Banana Bread, the ripe banana lends a subtle sweetness and leaves the muffins nice and moist.  The pumpkin puree takes it a step further and adds a little extra flavor boost.

Tip:  Since this recipe doesn’t use very much pumpkin puree and I didn’t want to waste the rest, I made these muffins the same day I made my pumpkin bread bars.  Waste not, want not. 🙂

Banana-Pumpkin-Muffins_2

Oh yeah – Another perk of these cute little muffins?  The batter can be made in a blender.  That’s right – no need to dirty your mixer!

What are you waiting for?  These healthy little cuties are calling your name.  I recommend drizzling them with a little honey or spreading a little homemade Nutella on top for an extra indulgence. 😉

[Paleo] Banana Pumpkin Mini Muffins

Inspired by You Hunt. I Gather.

Makes 12 mini muffins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 ripe (or overly ripe) banana
  • 2 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons honey (more if you like your muffins sweeter)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • optional: 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

What to Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (F).
  2. Line a muffin pan with liners or lightly grease with olive oil.
  3. Add pumpkin puree, banana, coconut milk, eggs, vanilla extract, and honey in a blender and blend on high for 30 seconds. Scrape down sides if necessary.
  4. Add salt, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, and coconut to the blender. Blend on high for another 20-30 seconds. Scrape down sides if necessary. Batter will be thick.
  5. Spoon batter into muffin pan.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Drizzle with honey or Paleo-friendly Nutella.

You May Also Like:

33 thoughts on “[Paleo] Mini Banana Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Yum!! Those little muffins look so luscious and I totally get snack cravings between 10:30-3:30 too…these sound like the perfect pick me up! Question: I’ve been seeing coconut flour in a lot of your paleo baking recipes and just wondering–do you think it’s worth the investment? I currently have AP, whole wheat, spelt, buckwheat and oat flour soooo…do you think coconut flour is kind of interchangeable taste-wise? Just debating whether to go buy some…

    Also, I want to hear more about your cake decorating class!! That definitely sounds like it’d be a diet killer for me, but it sounds like you and Jon are doing a great job working toward your 80% goal, nice job!!

    • Wow, you have a lot of flours! I guess that comes with the territory of being the pancake princess. 😉 To be honest, I’ve never worked with spelt, buckwheat and oat flours so I can’t really compare them to coconut flour. Overall, coconut flour tastes pretty much like a regular flour but I guess it does have a SUBTLE hint of coconut if you’re trying to find it. I usually get more of a coconut taste from the coconut oil or coconut milk that usually accompany these recipes. The major difference with coconut flour is that it’s super dense – It soaks up SO much moisture so the recipes that call for it either ramp up the oil/eggs/liquids or only use a little coconut flour. It takes some getting used to because the baking creations are not usually light and fluffy – more moist and dense. Overall, I’d probably say you can hold off on buying it until one of your other speciality flours runs out and then try it.

      Omg, the cake decorating classes are AWESOME! I highly recommend them – especially if you have a Michael’s near you and you wait for the classes to be 50% off. I feel like I’ve learned so much in 3 classes and it’s definitely the kind of learning/info you’ll keep with you for the rest of your baking adventures (Jon jokes that if I take all 4 courses, 16 total classes, that I can make our wedding cake haha). It’s definitely (!) killing my Paleo-lifestyle but at least there’s only one more class! I really think you would love it if you have the opportunity to take one!

    • If I’m completely honest, Jon and I haven’t even been trying to eat Paleo when we go out to eat. We’ve been viewing these meals as our “cheat” meals so we’ve been getting whatever we want – i.e. sushi and ice cream or a philly cheesesteak and fries. Terrible, I know.

      You bring up a great point though – With so much focus on eating clean and going green, a lot of restaurants have incorporated these kinds of options on their menus. Jon and I need to work on finding a happy medium between eating out and not going off the deep end. Hopefully I’ll have some tips and tricks within the next couple of weeks! 🙂

  2. Sounds delicious!!! I’m missing a few of these ingredients but i’ll definitely have to give it a try one of these days. I love anything with banana in it 😛

    • Haha, I love that you said these kind of resemble super fat cookies. I could definitely see that. Since you’re not a banana fan, I bet you could substitute all pumpkin puree or even add some pureed sweet potato! Thanks for commenting on the pics too – I’m really trying to improve the pictures I post (when I can) so it means a lot for you to notice! 🙂

  3. They look delicious! And I have everything in my kitchen to make them (though I may use almond flour in place of coconut flour, since I’m still saving that for the cupcakes)–I’m just waiting on my banana to ripen. Thanks for the recipe!

    • Thank you! I definitely recommend Paleo baking – it’s so fun to use new ingredients and experiment to make everything taste “normal.” I love surprising people by saying, “It’s Paleo!”

    • I just finished up Course I last week and I already signed up to start Course III this week – I love it! (After taking Course I, you can do either Course II or Course III next). I’ve done a lot of baking and frosting prior to the classes but I still learned SO much. Overall, I would definitely recommend Course I if you do a lot of cakes/cupcakes and want to learn how to (correctly) make some fun shapes/flowers and how to correctly level, fill, and frost cakes so they look super smooth.

      If you decide to do a class, I would try to wait until they’re 50% off because they seem to go “on sale” regularly. Also, be prepared to purchase the lesson kit ($35, but you can juse a 40% off coupon) and various other items. Luckily, if you’re patient you can use coupons and keep making separate purchases. (I literally went to Michael’s 5 days in a row one week!). Let me know if you sign up for a class!

  4. Pingback: CARROT BANANA MUFFINS (Paleo Bread) | Healthy, Happy Living

Leave a Reply

